Blog, forum and plot

As several of you have noted this blog now has a new look. I didn’t want one but last week WordPress deleted the theme I used and substituted a replacement without any direct prior notice.  It caused somewhat of a furore as this action was unacceptable to many, which is not surprising, and was compounded by various technical glitches as well.  If you want to know more this article is worth reading.  Although the new theme is similar it wasn’t really to my liking so I’ve changed it to this one.  After a couple of days of faffing around I think that all is now okay but if you do spot anything amiss then please let me know by way of a comment.

I belong to several gardening forums which are mostly okay except for the inconsequential non-gardening topics that they also cover.  I read Carrie’s This time next week… post last Tuesday and VP’s comment here about UK Veg Gardeners where the content is just about growing vegetables, fruit and cut flowers.  I had a good look round, liked what I saw and joined this new forum.  As well as Carrie and VP fellow lawn lounger Damo is a member, and I know several of the others from elsewhere.  It officially launches tomorrow but already has forty members,  various groups and plenty of good photos such as this one so it’ll be off to a good start.

There’s been some ground soaking rain here during the past week which was good to see, and much needed. As a consequence I’ve not done as much plotting as I have been doing  but I did plant around fifteen leeks that plot neighbour Brian kindly gave me.  I’ve not grown them before so it’ll be interesting to see how they do. I also dug up more potatoes, lifted some onions, picked lots of runner beans and delicious blackberries.  The tallest sunflower on the plot is now well over eight feet and shows little sign of flowering yet!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Blog, forum and plot

  1. Damo says:

    Hi Flighty, not being the most observant of people I didn’t realise your change, surely it would have been easy for wordpress to inform all users of the soon to be redundant theme in advance? It never ceases to amaze me how large concerns fail miserably at PR on a continual basis. The new forum looks promising as it’s restricted to UK and veg growing, I’m sure the membership will continue to rise. Serious rain here too, managed to get some hedge cutting done before it started. You’ve got me on the sunflowers, mine have started to flower now at 6′, shorter than last year, but should be in full bloom for next weekend.

    • Flighty says:

      Damo that’s okay! Yes I, and many others, agree that’s what they should have done. You’re right and you’d think that they’d learn wouldn’t you.
      As you say it’s looks promising and membership is now over 80!
      The rain was most welcome, although I’ve seen lots of slugs since. Sunflowers are great whatever height they reach.

  2. VP says:

    Well Flighty, I like your new look!

    I’ve also been having WP problems on my photo blog, they’ve not been loading as they used to for a while and I noticed yesterday that the theme I’m using (Ocean Mist) no longer comes up on the ‘official’ list. I think that means the theme is no longer supported and may explain why I’ve been having problems.

    Luckily I’ve had the time to investigate the other theme options and choose one which retained all the widgets I’ve been using and make the change in my own time. Your experience just simply isn’t on is it?

    Thanks for highlighting the new forum 🙂 I hope your good first impressions stay that way. These things stand or fall by who joins up and joins in. I’m glad that you’re there.

    • Flighty says:

      VP thanks! Have another look as Ocean Mist is still listed as a current theme. No definitely not on, but thankfully I didn’t experience the problems that many did, just the inevitiable minor niggles that take time to change.
      I’m always happy to mention forums, etc. that I like and this one is off to a great start. Plenty have joined but it remains to be seen who contributes. Thanks again! xx

  3. Jo says:

    Sorry to hear you’ve been having problems with your blog. I’m not at all technically minded so it would have been a nightmare for me. I think the new UK Veg Gardeners site looks really promising. I’m already signed up, as you know, but haven’t had chance to have a really good look around yet. I still haven’t got my leeks in yet, but I shall make sure that I set some time aside this coming week to get the job done. Leeks are one of my favourite winter veg.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I think that it’s all sorted now without too many problems. I’m glad that it wasn’t a nightmare for me as I’m not really that techie.
      It’s good to see that you’ve joined the new forum.
      I was intending growing leeks next year but thanks to Brian I’ve started early! xx

  4. like the new look… sorry WordPress popped it on you with no notice. that would be extremely frustrating!

    best of luck with your leeks. i’ve been eyeing mine up for a bit now, but will try to reserve some patience to not harvest until September. though braised baby leeks would be ever so good right now.

    • Flighty says:

      Allison@a tasteful garden thanks. They’ve really handled it badly so far and I hope that they learn from it and don’t do it again.
      September sounds early to be lifting leeks as we don’t usually start doing that here until November. Anyway enjoy them when you do. xx

  5. polythenepam says:

    hi I like the new look too though I sympathise with all the faffing. Garden forums look interestng – headng over there now. The way things are going with plastic lined cans looks like I will be growing a lot more tomatoes next year – need all the help can get Good luck with the leeks. x

    • Flighty says:

      Pam hello, and thanks! It was something that I could well have done without that’s for sure.
      I’ve not come across any such tins yet but will let you know if and when I do. Good luck with the tomatoes, I definitely need to improve my growing skills with them as so far my efforts have been rather poor.
      Thanks, I’ll let know how I get on with them! xx

  6. alison says:

    saw the photo of your garden. nice 🙂
    looking forward for sunflower photos.

  7. menhir says:

    Hello Mr F,

    I know you had difficulties connecting to things recently, however, I either I am totally unobservant, or forgetful. (Perish the thought!) I haven’t noticed a major change to your homely site, what has been altered?

    We haven’t been short of rain in many parts of Scotland. Apart from it being annoying not getting any length of Summer warmth, the main benefit has been that I haven’t had to concern myself much with watering things when I am not around; that hasn’t happen much. I have, perversely, had to occasionally water things when I have been here!

    Today is a dead-heading day, both with indoor flowers and soft herb plants and outdoors, in addition, there will be some weeding to be done. I discovered some rather too healthy thistles in the garden this morning.

    XXX

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir hello! It’s only been changed a few days, and really isn’t a lot different. This is a new layout, or theme as they call them here.
      It was pretty unsettled here last week, and it looks like staying that way for a while.
      It sounds you were going to be busy today. I’ll be weeding later in the week. Thistles look nice but a pain if they’re allowed to seed. xx

      • menhir says:

        I am finding some differences in the layout of subscriptions to a post, also the reply system. It all seems quite clean otherwise. It’s a pain coping with impositions. We don’t have much come back on it though, especially as most people are not professionally subscribing to blogs by paying up front for them. So long as there’s nothing objectionable, which I would not accept as a quid pro quo for blogging.

  8. nikkipolani says:

    I like the new look, Flighty, as it is very readable and shows off your photos well. Though I do agree it would’ve been better if WP gave a heads-up to those who are using an expiring theme. The one thing I’ve really appreciated with WP is their handling of spam. Seems like many of my Blogger friends suffer much more spam issues.

    Anyway, the sunflower looks like it is literally reaching for the sun. And your harvest sounds delightful — fresh picked blackberries? Yum 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki thanks, they were both reasons that I chose this theme. Yes there’s been a lot of unhappy bloggers this last week. I agree about the spam otherwise that’s what one in three of all comments here would be!
      I can’t wait for it to flower as so far I’ve had no all yellow ones bloom.
      The blackberries have really been delicious, I picked another lot this morning! xx

  9. Mildew says:

    Oh, I like the look of that new forum, may have to join up that one. If it’s anything like the founder’s MyTinyPlot blog it’ll be great.

    I like the new look Flighty! I’m surprised that WordPress didn’t let people about the change, they’re normally pretty good with things like that.

    Looking forward to seeing that sunflower grow and grow

    • Flighty says:

      Mildew hello! It’ s good to see that you joined the forum, which as you say looks good and is off to a great start.
      Thanks, I agree and the first real problem I’ve had since I’ve been here.
      I’ll keep you all informed of its progress. xx

  10. Glo says:

    What’s rain? 😉 We haven’t seen any for awhile, but apparently we are scheduled to have 1mm fall on Thursday. It might easily be mist. (pun) Your sunflower-beanstalk looks just the kind of plant that one of those twisty frogs would love to cling to. I do hope they are helping out on the plot. I’m glad to know that all is well with your harvesting. I had fresh blackberry pie on Sunday ~ sorry I didn’t take a photo ~ it was delicious (especially since it was made by someone other than me). Anyway, back I go outside to oil some more boards. Save me!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I know the feeling as that’s all the rain we’ve had here for ages.
      I’ll seek out the twins on the plot and take some photos.
      My blackberries have been amazing this year, even better than the raspberries.
      Oiling boards doesn’t sound like much fun, I hope that you’ve finished them! xx

  11. Carrie says:

    How very cheeky that WordPress didn’t even tell you! Grrr. But on the up side, your blog is still beautiful and your writing is as wonderful as always – they can’t change that! Hugs x

Leave a Reply

