Two on TV

Sea Otters: A Million Dollar Baby is today’s Natural World programme on BBC2 at 8.00pm.  Californian Sea Otters are among the rarest animals in the world  so this was a rare opportunity to film a mother and pup. Be warned that there are sad moments as a bully of a male otter attacks the mother leaving her seriously injured and the pup on her own.  Sea Otters are wonderfully cute animals as you’ll see here!

A new four part documentary series Secret Britain starts on BBC1 Sunday at 9.00pm. Part one,  The Crowded South, takes the presenters from the far south west of England to Dover.  Matt Baker explores Britain’s only desert and Julia Bradbury discover’s Dorset’s ancient routes.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Two on TV

  1. Jo says:

    I’ve just been catching up with your goings on whilst I’ve been away on holiday. Your plot it looking fabulous with all those wonderful flowers, and you’re harvesting some wonderful produce. Glad to hear that you managed to save Frog Newton. Perhaps you could pop some kind of ramp in the tank in case he falls in again. The sea otter programme sounds good but I don’t think I could stand seeing that baby left all on its own. I remember watching a programme about seals where something happened to the baby and the mother was ‘crying’ for it, I was crying along with her. I know it’s nature but I’m a big softie.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo hello, it’s good to see that you had a good holiday! Thanks, I’m well pleased with the flowers and vegetables at the moment.
      Yes a ramp of some kind sounds like a good idea, I’ll have to have a think about it!
      I’m a big softie too, which is why I mentioned that for anyone who is too. I didn’t watch it last night but will watch the repeat or on iPlayer. xx

  2. NiC says:

    I remember my father delighting in telling us all about the sea otters he and my mother managed to see after they visited California a while ago so I look forward to tonight’s show…thanks for reminding me!

  3. Damo says:

    Looking forward to the first episode about the south, may see some old haunts.

  4. nikkipolani says:

    Just popping in to say hello and… whoa! There’s something different about your blog layout 🙂 Is everything bigger, or is it my imagination? Looks great.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki hello! Yes it’s a different theme, and there’s a story as to why it’s changed which I’ll be relating in Sunday’s post.
      Enjoy the weekend! xx

  5. mrs K says:

    I suppose I should have commented before on the change.

    It is so much easier for my old eyes to read – the clarity is wonderful.

  6. cafecortado says:

    That Secret Britain programme looks fascinating – thanks for the nod! Good to see you’re keeping this blog going.

    • Flighty says:

      Cafecortado hello! I agree, so let’s hope that it is.
      Thanks, I’m happy to keep on blogging especially whilst I continue to get kind remarks like this!

Leave a Reply

