Surprises!

Yesterday morning whilst watering the plot I went to dunk the watering can in the nearby water tankand was surprised to see Frog Newton swimming about in it!  I rescued him, and then placed him on the ground nearby

A couple of months ago I sowed what I think were a couple of  pumpkin Hooligan F1 hybrid seeds which have grown and grown and…I keep peering under the leaves and seeing flowersand today I noticed a small, tennis ball sized, fruit growing

I’m not sure what this feathery foliaged plant is but I’m looking forward to seeing it flower

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Surprises!

  1. I’m glad that you arrived to rescue the frog, although he doesn’t look very grateful 🙂
    The mystery plant looks most interesting, although I haven’t a clue what it is.

    • Flighty says:

      Griselda the water level was a lot lower than in the photo so it wouldn’t have been able to get out. Perhaps I interrupted it’s morning swim!
      It sure does, and I think Nikki may be right saying that it’s cosmos. xx

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Adding Frog Rescue to your activities on the plot, eh, Flighty?

    That little pumpkin looks like it’ll get big fast.

    As for the frilly leaved mystery plant, it looks a lot like cosmos leaves. I used to grow them and would like to grow some again.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I’m glad I did as a plot neighbour would have been washing tools and vegetables in there a bit later on!
      Not too big I hope!
      You may well be right, although I didn’t sow any cosmos this year. xx

  3. menhir says:

    Nice set of photos. Frog couldn’t be one of your looked after frog spawn could it?

  4. Doris says:

    Oh – I’m so glad you were able to save the frog. Good for you!
    A cousin of mine found a special platform (I believe shaped like a water lily pad) that is sold to attach to containers that will allow a frog (or other creature) to get to safety. I think it would be a great idea to sell them in gardening shops.

    • Flighty says:

      Doris me too as they’re one of the good guys on the allotments! That sounds like a great idea as it’s surprising just how many creatures drown in ponds and the like. xx

  5. Glo says:

    Flighty rescues Frog Newton! Yay! I bet he was breathing a big sigh of relief once he caught his breath back on dry land. What an adventure! And now there are giant magic pumpkins growing! Aren’t their tendrils amazing ~ they show up so well in your photo. Wow, that is one special plot.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo he sure made me jump! He clambered onto the watering can rose and then off onto the nearby ground. I then went and got the camera to take his photo, and was relieved that he was still visible!
      Pumpkins really are triffid plants! I’ve not grown them before so didn’t really appreciate the space they need. Thanks, I certainly think that it is! xx

  6. Carrie says:

    mystery leaves look at cosmos, I have them too. How lovely to have a little froggy friend 🙂

  7. Damo says:

    I had a close encounter with a frog as well, he was keeping my cabbages slug-free. Best of luck with the pumpkins, I have my fingers crossed for my first pumpkin harvest this year.

  8. Louise says:

    I would have said Cosmos too. Once it flowers keep it deadheaded and it will flower on and on. The water tank looks quite high off the ground. I wonder how the frog managed to get in there? Lucky it was rescued. It’s very handy to have the space to grow pumpkins! x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise thanks I’ll bear that in mind for when they do flower. The tank is at least two feet high, so like you I also wondered!
      I planted the pumpkins much too close to the tomatoes not realising just how much they sprawl. Never mind next year I’ll give them plenty of room! xx

  9. Liz says:

    Froggy back! Garden surprises are such fun.

  10. wilsweb says:

    Hi Flighty
    Did you id that feathery plant please? I have several – they developed tough reddish stems but no sign of flowers.
    wilsweb@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

