Summer sizzlers!

Much as I prefer cooler looking flowers I have to say that everywhere I look at the moment there are plenty of wonderful eye catching orange, red and yellow summer sizzlers!

There are nasturtiums like these three colourful examples,

the crocosmia which contrasts so well with it’s green sword-like leaves,

this wonderful sunny sunflower,

an hot orange pot marigold,

this lustrous rose ‘Valentine heart’

and a sizzling californian poppy

Happy gardening!Ā 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Summer sizzlers!

  1. Amy says:

    I love bright red, orange and yellow flowers! I had some growing out on my windowsills but sadly all the sunflowers died and I had to pull up all my nasturtiums as they were so completely infested in blackfly that it was starting to affect the vegetables. So I’m left just with the flowers of my peppers and tomatoes… Still gorgeous none-the-less though

    • Flighty says:

      Amy hello and thanks for stopping by! I’m sorry to see that your flowers didn’t survive. Sadly blackfly can be a real problem on some flowers and vegetables. You’ll get double enjoyment with your peppers and tomatoes…looking at the flowers and then eating the fruit!
      I’ve bookmarked your blog and will stop by for a proper read during the coming week.
      Happy gardening! xx

  2. Wonderful flowers. I love reds, oranges, yellows and gorgeous summer colours. The sunflower is spectacular! At the moment the hottest colour we have is the red bottle brush plant – the red is very vivid although the blooms don’t last very long.

    • Flighty says:

      Griselda thanks! I prefer white, yellow and blue ones. It is and there’s more to come!
      That’s like the californian poppies which only last a few days. xx

  3. Of course I meant blooms!!

  4. Damo says:

    Great flowers Flighty!

  5. Ellie says:

    I love both the ‘hot’ colours and the ‘cool’ ones, so I tend to have borders for both. My favourite ‘hots’ are Heleniums, Crocosmias and Dahlias. I haven’t managed to grow nasturtiums yet, as Amy said, they are always infested with blackfly. x

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie that sounds like a good idea as you like both! I leave growing dahlias to my plot neighbours who have more space to do so. That’s the only drawback with nasturtiums when they get infested like that. xx

  6. mrs K says:

    Companion planting, plant pot Marigolds or Tagetes near the Nasturtiums and anywhere else Blackfly attacks and the attacks will lessen.

    Brilliant colours – I just love them – but then I like the cool colours too. Maybe I am easily pleased.

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Wonderful glorious colours! I love the friendly faces of nasturtiums . And my crocosmia is almost on the same schedule as yours. It’s tending to fall over, however, and looks rather floppy. You’ve got a nice population of ladybugs I see šŸ™‚

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki they sure brighten up the plot! I’m well pleased with the crocosmia. There’s lots of ladybirds at the moment which are always good to see! xx

  8. Jo says:

    Our sunflowers aren’t out yet although I do have a few Californian poppies – and have just bought a Monbretia for the garden.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo my ‘giant singles’ haven’t either yet and are still growing with one well over seven foot! Good for you, it’s a lovely plant and I see that you use the old name which I prefer. xx

  9. Glo says:

    Nice touch with the sunglasses on the cool dude at the end of your post ~ no wonder, with the splashes of summer sizzling brightness. I bet the plot looks like sunshine heaven šŸ™‚ You’ve outdone yourself with all your cheery smiling flowers ~

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks! Those bright splashes compensate for some of the other areas such as where the potatoes are which is now bare earth or dying foliage. xx

  10. Bernie says:

    I’m a big fan of ‘hot’ colours and yours look fabulous. Love the nasturtiums and that sunflower! Great photos of some of your great summer sizzlers!

    • Flighty says:

      Bernie hello, and thanks for stopping by!
      It’s always good to see others appreciating both the flowers and photos.
      I’ve bookmarked your blog and will have a proper look at it over the weekend. xx

  11. Liz says:

    Those flowers say “summertime”.

  12. Flighty says:

    Liz they sure do! xx

Leave a Reply

