Just pottering!

Yesterday morning I spent some time just pottering!

The rosebay willowherb that I’ve mentioned before,  which grows on the wild area,  is now in full flower and I was struck by how pretty the small flowers areThe large saw edged leaves belong to the globe artichoke, and are actually light grey in colour.

Several lesser knapweed plants have grown in the same area this year which is pleasing as the flowers attract lots of bees (and butterflies)

Elsewhere on the plot the colourful californian poppies are among the plants being visited by hoverflies [see note below]

Have a good weekend!

[My apologies I’ve edited this post to add the californian poppies link and change the picture!… Flighty,  July 30]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Just pottering!

  1. nikkipolani says:

    Oh, what a gorgeous shot of the hoverfly on your poppy! I’m loving all these bits of colour on your plot, Flighty.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki thanks, I was actually trying to take a photo of a nearby butterfly!
      That’s nice to know, and there’s lots more to look forward to. xx

      [Apologies that picture now changed! xx]

  2. The colours in your photographs are very pretty – what lovely surroundings to potter in 🙂

  3. Doris says:

    Being a Potter, I thought I would check out what pottering you did. 🙂 I am glad I did. I love the flower pictures – especially the last one.

  4. Carrie says:

    Great photos. I love the wild flowers around the edges of our allotment field, so much life going on in there, just like yours. Pottering is one of the best things about gardening 🙂

  5. Glo says:

    I’ve just commented on your blog, but I left my message on your previous posting ~ just so you know I’ve been here reading daily, but not doing much else 😉 I’ve become a lazy lawn lounger, big time!

  6. Liz says:

    Your photographs just get better and better.

Leave a Reply

