Pleasurable plotting

During last week I dug up a few potatoes to use as I go. They were some Swift first earlies, Charlotte salad ones and this, accidently uncovered,  Kestrel second early which I baked

I picked several courgettes Black Beauty including this one which is about eight inches long

Yesterday I ate  some  runner beans and  French climbing beans as seen above, and enjoyed the first blackberries which were big, juicy and just slighty tart.

The first sunflower bloomed, which I nearly overlooked as it’s only a foot high with a two inch flower

The pot marigolds are now flowering all over the plot in colours ranging from beige through yellow to bright orange. I’ve also been enjoying them at home

There’s been plenty of wildlife about this week. On the plot I saw several brown butterflies* , and a sparrow, on the blackberry bush and raspberries. This was one of them although I’m not sure if it’s a small butterfly or a day moth

I saw a dragonfly flitter across the plot, which was a first for me! I was surprised at how large it was and wonderful it looked with it’s gossamer wings and bright body.  On Thursday morning a heron was overhead lazily flapping it’s way across the site.

It finally rained on Thursday afternoon with several heavy, and prolonged, showers which were certainly needed.  Guess who’d watered all round the plot that very morning!

Happy gardening!

[* Butterfly Conservation are doing a Big Butterfly Count all this week through to next Sunday.]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Pleasurable plotting

  1. Doris says:

    I love your pictures – as usual – and the vegetables are mouth watering! Sounds like you had a great day of wildlife viewing too!

    • Flighty says:

      Doris thanks, and the vegetables have all tasted as good as they look!
      Some weeks I don’t see much wildlife but last week there were one or two really good days. This morning the fox was around as well! xx

  2. Damo says:

    Great veg Flighty, love pot marigolds as well, great colour.

  3. nikkipolani says:

    What a dreamy post, Flighty, full of tasty garden produce and pretty petals and fluttery garden visitors. I love the rust colours of that sunflower.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki what a nice way to describe it! Yes it’s different to the more familiar yellow ones, and here’s plenty more to to come including one that’s well over six feet high! xx

      • nikkipolani says:

        I remember reading about a family that planted a “fence” of sunflowers along their front yard. It came up every summer. Looking forward to seeing your six-footer!

        • Flighty says:

          Nikki there’s a row of five at the bottom edge of the plot which are all around five foot high!
          Me too as it’ll be the tallest one I’ve grown so far. xx

  4. Lovely photographs and mouth watering veg and fruit. Home grown potatoes are the best, and we Irish take our spuds very seriously 🙂

  5. mrs K says:

    My neighbour dropped by half of his first digging of charlottes – we boiled them, sprinkled chives over and little dot of butter and ate them. Bliss.

    Why oh why cannot I grow pot marigolds, I just love ’em.

    Coast last night – brilliant as usual.

    • Flighty says:

      Mrs K I’ve been well impressed with the Charlottes and will certainly grow again next year.
      I’m sorry to hear that you can’t grow pot marigolds. Never mind they’ll be plenty more to see on here.
      Yes it was a most enjoyable programme to watch! xx

  6. I really enjoyed reading about and seeing photos of the lovely veg and visitors to your garden. We love our runner beans (my husband and youngest son even like to eat them raw off the plant!), but by the end of the season we’ve all eaten so many of them we feel we can’t face another bean until Christmas 😀 Sorry you went to all that watering trouble just before the rain came. . . I heard (on Gardeners question time, I think) that we should water in the evenings so that the water near the top doesn’t evaporate in the sun. It makes sense and I will try to do that from now on! LOVE the colour of your sunflower 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Suzanne thanks it’s nice to know that you enjoyed this post. I love runner beans as well but like most people do get a bit fed up with them eventually!
      Watering is best done early or late in the day, and certainly not when it’s too hot and sunny.
      Me too, I’ve got various sunflowers growing and it’ll be interesting to see what the flowers are like. xx

  7. oanh says:

    What fantastic abundance from your allotment! Those sunflowers are such a lovely colour – very unusual.

  8. Glo says:

    Well, you may be pottering, but I’m hardly even puttering! It is so gorgeous here ~ just the right temp with the sea breeze, that I’ve turned into a total lawn lounger! I’m glad to see your harvest and flowers ~ I hope those twin frog ties are doing their job holding up the sunflowers and not lallygagging by the frogpond like they did last year ~ layabouts they were! I don’t have any sunflowers this year, so my frog ties are not heavily taxed this year, although they do seem to be holding up their end. 😉

    • Flighty says:

      Glo it’s been good here as well, perfect lawn lounging weather! Little rain means that I still have to do a bit more than potter some days. Mind you it’s worth it as I ate my own potatoes, carrots, onions and runner beans for lunch followed by blackberries and raspberries.
      I was thinking about the twins the other day and I’m sure that they’re hiding under the leaves of the six foot plus sunflower. I’ll catch up with them during the week, take a few photos and do a post. xx

      I have to say that lallygagging is a great word!

  9. Ellie says:

    A wonderful ‘reaping of what you have sown’! At least you manage to pick your courgettes at the right moment – mine always end up as marrows! x

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie sorry I missed this comment!
      Thanks. That’s only because I look at them every day and even then a few have been on the large size for courgettes! xx

  10. Liz says:

    Vegetables, flowers, and a butterfly. No better summer day.

Leave a Reply

