Watching and reading

I’m pleased to see that a new series of  Coast, the excellent science and nature documentaries,  starts next week.  The first of eight programmes  Heart of the British Isles – a Grand Tour is on BBC2 TV Sunday at 9.00pm and is followed by the second one, Swanage to Land’s End,  next Wednesday at 9.00pm.  The series is being presented by the usual team – Neil Oliver, Alice Roberts, Mark Horton, Miranda Krestovnikoff and Nick Crane.

If I had to choose a summer or holiday book it would be the one that I’m currently reading. It’s Icons of England edited by Bill Bryson which is a salute to the English countryside. Over 90 writers each write,  in just a few pages, about their personal icon of England.  I’m about half way though and really enjoying this book which at times is wonderfully idiosyncratic.

I have to say that I’m a fan of Bill Bryson and it’s good to see that he has a new book,  At Home: A Short History of  Private Life,  due out in the autumn.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Watching and reading

  1. nikkipolani says:

    Ooh, I just love the roses in your header.

    So nice to have an enjoyable summer read. I like the sound of the Icons book. My aunt has lent me a bag of her latest reads 😉

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki thanks, it’s taken a long time to get a really nice rose header picture!
      It’s always nice to have a good book to read, and sounds like you’ve got a few thanks to your aunt. xx

  2. Mr Pugh will be very pleased as he loves “Coast” 🙂 I really like the sound of the “Icons of England” so I’m off to check that out. Once again, thanks for very interesting links!

    • Flighty says:

      Griselda it’s a programme that I’ve always found interesting and informative.
      I’m really enjoying this book and highly recommend it! You’re welcome! xx

  3. Jo says:

    I’ve seen Coast in the listings but so far have never managed to catch it. A good book is a must for holidays, I’ve got mine packed.

  4. mrs K says:

    I even watch the repeats of Coast and the 10 min bits which keep on popping up.

    I just love the UK.

    Bryson – great and you always end up smiling at how idiosyncratic we are in this small island.

    • Flighty says:

      Mrs K I do too…that’s both watching Coast and loving the UK!
      He’s such a popular writer, who has a great eye for our eccentricities! xx

  5. Ellie says:

    Thanks for highlighting Coast – I love watching it but tend to find it has been and gone before I cotton on!

    I’m a great fan of Bill Bryson too – I shall look forward to his next book. x

  6. Damo says:

    Coast is a great series and I’ve read most of Bill Bryson’s books too. I’ll look out for his new one, thanks Flighty.

  7. Liz says:

    I am a fan of Bill Bryson, too, from A WALK IN THE WOODS and onward. He’s an engaging writer.

Leave a Reply

