Random plottings

On Tuesday I received a package from Nikki containing a pair of posh gardening gloves, some special cookies and a cardThe gloves are much appreciated as I’ve worn out the pair that she sent me just over three years ago. She also tells me that the cookies are from a Taiwanese bakery and are her favourites.  I’ve certainly found them rather delicious when I’ve had  a couple along with a cup of tea.

Despite some much needed rain during the week there are cracks in the ground where I could lose my trowel

It was also very windy at times so I staked all my sunflowers to prevent them from blowing over. It won’t be long before they start flowering

The nasturtiums have started flowering and I could hardly miss this Salmon baby in the planter by the shed

During the weekI’ve seen a few notable insects including a jewel like one with a bright green body and shiny copper back on one of the rose blooms, a large bumble bee enjoying the white love-in-a-mist and this butterflyon the blackberry bush.

Plot neighbour Trevor acquired some chickens last week and here are three of them snuggling up to each other on the perch

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Random plottings

  1. alison says:

    oh my! what healthy chickens 🙂
    glad to see you are having a good summer flighty. i’ve posted pictures of bonzai trees, not sure if you like them, anyways i’ll post some more soon. happy gardening!

    • Flighty says:

      Alison they certainly are! Thanks, and I hope that you are too.
      Your post on bonzai trees is interesting, although I can never decide if I really like them or not! xx

  2. Chickens are much more complex than I ever thought; this week in work we were talking about a programme (which I intend to catch up on soon) in which a chicken caught and ate a mouse! I hope that you have some rain soon to un-parch the ground. Enjoy the cookies 🙂

  3. Jenny Aspin says:

    Isn’t it lovely to get an unexpected present? Enjoy. 🙂

  4. Jo says:

    What a thoughtful gift. Gardening gloves are always handy, I like to have a few pairs on the go for different jobs, thinner ones for more delicate tasks and thicker ones for tasks which call for a little protection. How nice to have some chickens on the allotment. We’re not allowed to keep livestock on our’s.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo like you I have several pairs for various jobs, although I usually end up taking them off!
      It is nice, but at the moment it’s a slightly grey area on ours so he may have to move them. xx

  5. i have a few pairs of gardening gloves, but i always keep misplacing them and end up weeding glove-less 🙂
    looks like everything is thriving so nicely in your plot!

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Good thing those cookies last well — except once you open the package, it’s hard not to snarf the lot (as I have done). I didn’t realize you could have chickens on the allotment! And your flowers are doing well, I see. Perhaps you’ll be getting more rain as the season progresses.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki they were delicious and lasted through to yesterday!
      We may not but the council don’t seem to be able to decide! If it’s no then he’ll move them. They came from the Earth Project which is on the allotment site and has just closed down due to budget cuts. They kept chickens and rabbits. I’ll do a post on this when I know more about what’s going to happen. It’s only been going three years and is such a waste of money…here’s an article about it opening
      http://www.harrowtimes.co.uk/news/1371399.countess_digs_deep_for_centre/
      Lots of flowers still to come. Rain would be more than welcome! xx

  7. Looking out of my office window and thinking about your post, Flighty. I don’t know about your part of the worldbut the rain is tipping down here, although it’s still very warm. Hope you’re enjoying some precipitation too 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Griselda sunny and warm here! I watered all round the plot this morning as no rain is forecast until Thursday. So no precipitation but plenty of perspiration! xx

  8. Damo says:

    Hi Flighty I don’t know whether you are a Tour de France fan as I am but when watching those guys I’m glad I have more sedate hobbies!

    • Flighty says:

      Damo I was a keen cyclist in my youth so yes I am a fan, and have even seen the Tour for real a couple of times!
      Sadly, or perhaps thankfully, my push-bike days are long gone and like you I’m thankful for gentler pursuits!

  9. Carrie says:

    Goodness you get lovely presents from your readers??! Lucky! I have lots of rain I could try to send your way x
    Love the chickens – we aren’t allowed any on our plot 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Carrie I do indeed, and Nikki is a longtime blog friend who has been very generous to me!
      It seems that half the country wants rain and the other half has had way too much!
      They’re great aren’t they. xx

  10. Glo says:

    What a lovely gift ~ very thoughtful of Nikki to send something useful and nourishing 🙂 I know that “cracking” can mean something good over there, but not in the case of the ground! Watering will keep you busy, and don’t worry, the rain will eventually come ~ that’s something you can count on! I hope Digger Fox and family have not noticed the chickens. Hopefully they are quiet cluckers 😉 Lovely weather here, which has slowed down my blogging and comments! Of course, I have also been occupied by chasing Bandido out of the cherry tree.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo it sure was a lovely surprise.
      You’re right but I guess that when the rain does come it’ll more than make up for the recent lack of it!
      Rest assured that the chicken run is fox proof.
      Lucky you with the weather which I’m glad to see you’re making the most of. So I see! xx

  11. menhir says:

    Hello Mr F.

    My nasturtiums have produced a number of really colourful blooms and lots of leaves. It is all so late this year.

    Your ground cracks are notable.

    Love the chicks. They’ll make distracting new neighbours. 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir that’s good to hear, mine have too with several different colours. That’s really not surprising!
      They are, and getting longer, wider and deeper by the day!
      The chicks are up the other end of the site, and well out of sight, so not too distracting thankfully! xx

  12. mrs K says:

    Flighty

    Do you get to get an egg for tea if you sing the song ‘Chick, chick, chick chicken lay a little egg for me’.

    I finally gave in and watered last Saturday – came Sunday – somebody up there turned the tap on and full pelt at that, they also forgot to turn it off Monday and Tuesday.

    Today they remembered to switch it off. Blue skies and sunshine again.

    • Flighty says:

      Mrs K I doubt if they’d lay any eggs if they heard me singing!
      That’s typical, there’s still been no rain here and the forecast is for some light showers only which never seem to materialise!
      Take care! xx

  13. Jigby says:

    Now I know what a Blog is!! Thanks – and so interesting and well done.

  14. Liz says:

    Nikki sends such welcome gifts! Love the color of the nasturtium. And chickens have taken up residence. Will they be safe from Mr. Digger and his ilk?

Leave a Reply

