Sowing to harvesting

On Monday I sowed some broad bean Witkiem Manita which I had  been given recently. If these don’t grow then I’m giving up on these as so far I’ve not had much success.

I also sowed some runner bean Kelvedon Marvel around the wigwam where only two Borlotti beans are growing.  The runner beans that I sowed just over a month ago have nearly all reached the top of the canes and  are now all flowering as you can see in the new header picture.

The rest of the week was mostly spent watering, weeding and picking lots more strawberries.  Even better I’ve started picking raspberries, some of which have actually made it home to be eaten with vanilla ice cream!

Yesterday I harvested a dinner’s worth of potatoes Charlotte, carrots Royal Chantenay Red which are only a couple of inches long  and two slightly bigger than golf ball size turnips Snowball.

I’m not keen on the latter so having eaten the smaller one I shall give the other one, along with with any others that I lift, to someone who does like them.

A few spring onions were pulled along with some salad leaves

and added to my cheese rolls.

As I’m sure you all know tomorrow is the start of  National Shed Week 2010, and here are the category winners for Shed of the Year 2010!

Happy gardening!


About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Sowing to harvesting

  1. nikkipolani says:

    Those onions look gorgeous! And your carrots are just darling — are they sweet? How on earth do you keep the slugs away from your salad greens? I’ve given up growing them because they get mowed in no time at all.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki the spring onions tasted good as well! Yes the carrots, raw and cooked, are sweet.
      I’ve seen few slugs, or snails, on the plot but do bare in mind that there’s been very little rain over the past couple of months. It also seems that they they don’t like red salad leaves as these are completely untouched! xx

  2. Glo says:

    Colourful harvest already! Great new header of your flowering beans. And you’re finally able to taste your raspberries after months of mouth-watering anticipation ~ terrific 🙂 Sounds like healthy eating, which tastes even better since it’s your own home grown.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo yes indeed colourful and tasteful! Thanks, good header photos are surprising hard to do and I wanted a ‘vegetable’ one for a change.
      The raspberries have been well worth the wait!
      My eating is generally healthy but as you say when it’s home grown as well it tastes even better! xx

  3. daffy says:

    Such a talent! How about I send you a little cart over and you could sell your goods! Goodness delivered to your door… I think I am onto something here!
    My rabbits would give anything for those munchy looking carrots! xx

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy I’m still somewhat surprised when I manage to grow vegetables like this!
      There’s not enough to sell, besides I’m happy to eat what I want and give the rest, which isn’t much, away.
      I’m sure that they would! xx

  4. Carrie says:

    National shed week – I was not aware of this – must get my wee shed some love.
    Get, healthy harvests, but really Flighty, why grow things you don’t like?? Just think, that space could have more of you favourites growing in it. Ah, but I know – you love sharing your produce, that’s it, isn’t it!

    • Flighty says:

      Carrie we all love our sheds don’t we!
      It’s been years since I ate turnips and didn’t remember if I liked them or not. I was given an old packet of seed and sowed a short row in an out of the way place to see if they’d grow and if I did. I don’t so I’ll give them to someone who does!
      It’ll be swedes next year…or maybe not! xx

  5. All of your produce sounds mouth watering, Flighty. I love charlotte potatoes and chantenay carrots, having your own home grown for dinner must be fantastic. I’m not a turnip fan, but have had the small ones diced, steamed with plenty of black pepper and have really enjoyed them. I really like your new header btw 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Griselda thanks, and there’s lots more to come I hope!
      Maybe they’re an acquired taste and I’ll perhaps try another small one.
      Thanks, good header pictures are always difficult to take! xx

  6. Jo says:

    It’s great when the hard work finally pays off and you’re harvesting most of what’s on your plate. Spring onions are my favourite, I love them in a cheese sandwich.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I’m always pleased when it does, especially as I don’t have a coldframe or greenhouse to help get things off to a good start.
      I really like cheese and onion sandwhiches! xx

  7. Ellie says:

    Well done on your productive plot, Flighty. I bet your dinner was delicious. I’m wondering if this has been a bad year for broad beans. I’ve grown a lot, but not as many as the flowers suggested, but a friend said his had failed. Unlike your fabulous runner beans, the rabbits nibbled mine so they are only just starting to make a comeback!

    Love those sheds. Might have to give my functional one a cosmetic overhaul. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie thanks, needless to say I’m well pleased so far! I’ve not heard or seen anyone say that it’s been a good year for broad beans.
      I’m really glad that we don’t have a problem with rabbits!
      My shed is rather functional as well! xx

  8. Lovely looking home grown veg and nice photos of them too 🙂 Our garden raspberries are very plentiful now and the children enjoy picking and eating them! I absolutely love raw spring onions and add them to salads like home made potato salad with mayonnaise – delish!

    • Flighty says:

      Suzanne it’s all tasting good as well. This child at heart loves picking and eating raspberries as well!
      Me too, and these are the best spring onions that I’ve grown so far. xx

  9. Damo says:

    Looking good Flighty, what’s the trick with spring onions? Yours look fantastic mine are just pathetic looking wisps of hair that look like they’ve only just germinated never mind being in the ground for months!

    • Flighty says:

      Damo thanks, I wish I knew as these are certainly the exception to ones I normally grow! The ground had just been been hoed with a handful of m/p compost down the row before sowing.

  10. menhir says:

    I’ve got the same salad leaves as you Mr F. Your self-sufficiency is growing in strength,

    I bought some strawberries for a light lunch today, they were a variety that would be suited to boiling for jam. M & S buck up! I don’t live near the store, and on my travels I called in for an experience of a change of grocery. I could have done better. My own strawberries are exposed to our lower temperatures and high winds. they are just flowering.

    My chives are sturdy, as are the various mints I have (contained). I used nasturtium leaves for the first time yesterday, in a salad. I am still awaiting flowers. The leaves are large, a sign, I’m told, of a too rich soil. the only richness would have been the potting compost the seeds grew in. Perhaps my own seeds will do better, they went straight into the ground without too much preparation.

    It’s all trial this year to give me some ideas of the best way to deal with next year.

    You sound as if you have been inordinately patient with your beans Mr F.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir the salad leaves have been really good.
      Fingers crossed for your strawberries as home grown are so much better aren’t they.
      My nasturtiums are all in leaf but there’s no sign of flowers yet, and I sow the seed by just firming them into the earth then water.
      It’s the just the broad beans and if these don’t grow then that’s it! xx

Leave a Reply

