Summertime plotting

Typically in view of what I wrote in the last post the first thing that I saw on plot Thursday morning was this rather ghostly looking insectIt’s a White Plume moth which I’ve never seen before!

Then looking in the pond I noticed this tiny, halfΒ  inch long frogwhich proceeded to hop to the rim then disappear into the undergrowth.

As you can see that area is left alone with much of the foliageΒ  now four to five feet high.Β  In this picture the pond is the black hole at the bottom left with the log pile out of sight in the middle.The globe artichoke, over on the right, I shall leave to flower.

The first early potatoes have finished flowering and/or the foliage is starting to die back so I’ll be having a firkle soon. In fact I accidently found one potato yesterday which is about the size of a large egg.

The first runner beans that I sowed are at least five feet up the canes, the French beans are just a foot high but sadly only two of the Borlotti beans germinated.

Yesterday I picked another fifty strawberries to bring home, and even better I’ve spotted a couple of very nearly ripe raspberries.

This common mallow is flowering profuselyand the first pot marigolds have appeared

The comfrey plants have finished flowering so I cut half of them back to the ground then added the ripped/shredded leaves and stems to the compost heap. Once they start growing again in a couple of weeks I shall do the same the rest.

If you’re not enamoured with amphibians or insects then I’m sure that you’ll like this recent site visitor. Meet Wags a very young Jack Russell terrier.Needless to say this big softie thinks that she’s a real cutie!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Summertime plotting

  1. alison says:

    that insect looks like the snow queen of bug land! πŸ™‚ happy that little froggy all good to go for it’s new adventure! and that puppy looks just adorable! and of course the flowers are all delightful! happy harvest soon flighty!

    • Flighty says:

      Alison what a good desciption of it! I saw the frog again over the weekend, and should be seeing Wags again soon. I’m glad that you like the flowers, there’s lot more on the way!
      Thanks! xx

  2. Jo says:

    Wags is just gorgeous, I love the name too. I’ve never seen a White Plume Moth before, you’re right, it does look ghostly. I’m picking more and more strawberries every day, in fact I’m now passing them on to family too.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo she sure is, and if you saw her or rather her tail then you’d see how appropriate the name is!
      Me too, and I’ve given some away! xx

  3. What a fantastic find the moth was! I’ve never seen one before and am very glad you posted the photo and link. The colours of the marigold and mallow are beautiful πŸ™‚

    • Flighty says:

      Suzanne I have seen other less noticable moths on the plot but have never yet managed to get a close look or photos.
      The bees love the mallow flowers, and there’s lots of marigolds on the way which should be all sorts of colours/shades. xx

  4. Doris says:

    So many wonderful images! The White Plume Moth is astonishing. I wonder if we have these in Canada. I must find out.
    The frog is so cute and the Mallow is nice to see. There is a Mallow (very similar) with one stalk with flowers which peeks out between slats in a fence that I pass on my way to work. It makes me smile each time I see it.
    And then the Jack Russell puppy!! What a sweetie!!

    • Flighty says:

      Doris thanks. Yes it certainly is!
      The mallow is a native plant and as well as looking good is beloved by bees.
      Wags was a delightful visitor and I hope to see her again before too long. xx

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Wow, fun stuff this weekend, Flighty! That moth is very cool — esp cool is that you actually got a shot of it! The mallow is looking lovely, indeed. And you can never post enough photos of that photogenic marigold.

    And puppies are irresistible – this one looks as cute as a button.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki many thanks! It sure is, and I’d guess that I disturbed its sleep as it’s normally active at night.
      There’s lots of marigolds to come and it’ll be interesting to see just how many different colours and shades there are..
      It was her first day outside, and I think that it all got a bit too much for her as she flopped down fast asleep soon after I took that photo! xx

  6. Ellie says:

    That moth is beautiful -I’ve never seen one before. And what fun to see the baby froglet – I used to love watching them when I had a pond. I’m sure they’ll appreciate that corner, And Wags is beautiful – just make sure she doesn’t watch you digging, or you may have an enthusiastic ‘helper’!

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie it was, but close up appeared to be slightly ragged. Seeing that I only spend a few minutes looking in the pond when I’m there I suppose that I’m lucky to see what I do!
      I sure that Wags will get a mention here again in the future. xx

  7. What a lovely post, and the moth is extraordinary! In your link it says that they are quite common, but it looks so ethereal and other worldly. It sounds as if you are going to have some feasts quite soon and I hope that your raspberries do well. Home grown strawberries and raspberries are just gorgeous (I don’t grow them, mind you, just eat them!) Having seen a picture of Wags, I think that I would have to “accidentally” adopt her if I ever met her in reality – could she be any more cute??!!

    • Flighty says:

      Griselda thanks! They may be common but that’s the first one that I’ve seen.
      The raspberries are looking good, as do the blackberries with lots of flowers being pollinated by the bees.
      I hope that you don’t mind but I edited your comment as Wags is a she not a he! xx

  8. Glo says:

    That’s a winning post all round ~ with cute little froggy and doggy πŸ™‚ Amazing moth, too ~ and lovely flowers. I have a very tall one-stem mallow plant ~ same flowers though. I noticed today that the farm down the road has homegrown strawberry and raspberry case lots for sale, so better check them out! It must be too hot for the Queen over there in London town, as she’s headed for Canada for Canada Day, July 1~ she’ll be cooled off pretty quickly! Stay cool πŸ˜‰

    • Flighty says:

      Glo many thanks! I saw froggy again over the weekend.
      There are two several varieties of mallow and yours could well be one called Brave Heart.
      Oh my case lots of raspberries sounds good to me!
      I could do with some of the rain that the Queen had on arrival there. xx

  9. Flighty, I’m glad you told me because I THOUGHT I had put “he” and when I went back to check it said “she”, so I thought I was having a senior moment πŸ™‚

  10. i love Wags!!

    that White Plume moth is pretty cool. nice shot!

  11. Liz says:

    Wags is so cute and I expect by now (4 1/2 years later) is a little bigger.

Leave a Reply

