I’m not complaining…

but the the temperature here looks like reaching 30 C (86 F) by Sunday which is way too hot for me!  If it does then I’ll be doing little more on the plot than going early to top up the ponds, do any essential watering and pick some salad leaves.

When I top up the washing up bowl pond I do so carefully so as I don’t disturb the tadpoles one of which now has limbs

At this time of year breakfast is a couple of wholewheat biscuits with semi-skimmed milk and a dusting of demerara sugar. I know that it’s good for me but it is pretty bland. However this week I’ve been picking strawberries and a few of these added to the cereal make it taste a whole lot better!

Here in the UK it’s National Insect Week so I thought that I’d keep a look out for insects apart from bees and ladybirds. Needless to say I’ve seen nothing of note but a few fellow lawn loungers have photographed some wonderful insects recently.  Doris took this  dazzling fly, Glo this superb dragonfly and Uphilldowndale a fascinating pond skater. These all show the amazing diverse world of insects that we so often overlook.

Have a good weekend, and stay cool!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to I’m not complaining…

  1. Jo says:

    That’s a great clear photo of the tadpole. I hope it manages to make it to being a frog. I’m picking so many strawberries at the moment that we can’t keep up with them. They’re so different to those you buy from the supermaket, the flavour is so intense.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I took lots but just that one was really clear! So do I, and today I did see a tiny frog in the pond!
      Me too, with lots more to come. They certainly are different and much better! xx

  2. alison says:

    love the photo of the little tadpole, i can see the teeny tiny limb! 😀

  3. It sounds as if you have it about right for Sunday if it’s going to be that hot. I envy you your home grown strawberries, and breakfast is definitely better with them added. That’s a great picture of the tadpole and thanks for the links to the other pictures. Enjoy the weekend 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Griselda I really don’t like it much over 20C! I like strawberries but really do prefer raspberries and blackberries.
      Thanks I was pleased to get one as good as that.
      You too! xx

  4. nikkipolani says:

    How sweet those darling little strawberries look! 86F does sound pretty warm for your neck o’ the woods. I was looking at the average temps in my Texas friends’ neighborhood and it’s in the 90s for four months. That’s right, Four Months. Ugh.

  5. jo says:

    I don’t do heat either – but living this far north I think we will be fine! Fab pic of the tadpole.

  6. Doris says:

    Love the tadpole with the tiny legs! 🙂

  7. oanh says:

    Oh, I *know*! Isn’t this weather nuts? I actually got a bit of heat stroke after work yesterday (and I know it was heat stroke because I’m an outdoorsy Aussie and I’ve suffered before). I was kinda flabberghasted to have heatstroke in the UK … but what do you know!

    Stay cool and keep those little froggies (and you) well hydrated!

  8. Pingback: Bugs! | Unique Schmuck

  9. Hello. I’m happy to have found your wonderful blog through Uphilldowndale’s one. I’m in the UK too, enjoying Wimbledon and pottering in my garden today. . I too like berries in my morning cereal 🙂 Looking forward to seeing more of your posts.

    • Flighty says:

      Suzanne hello and thanks for stopping by. That sounds like an ideal sort of day to me!
      Thanks that’s nice to know, and I’ve been browsing through your interesting posts and will have a proper read over the weekend! xx
      PS Don’t tell anyone but Uphilldowndale is one of my favourite blogs!

  10. Louise says:

    Phew, it has been too hot! Lovely strawberries Flighty. Mine are doing really well this year too. More interesting insects I have seen in my garden this week are two species of ladybird, and a common blue damselfly. Not insects, but I saw The Blades and the Typhoon Eurofighter at the weekend! x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise yes it certainly has! Thanks, I picked another lot today. I’ve yet to see a damselfly, or dragonfly, on the plot.
      I saw some interesting aeroplanes at Northolt a couple of weeks ago at the Families Day and Charity Photocall. xx

  11. mrs K says:

    Flighty, cleaning pond out – and found 10 baby newts. The five grown ups sure have been busy.

    No Taddies, the frogs spawned early and a three nights running dropped well below freezing (ice formed) So no taddies this year.

    Three dragonflies hatched, first ones ever.

    Turning to strawberries, do you ever put some in a bowl, grind black pepper over, (not a lot mind you) leave for at least 4 hours. Yummy!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Flighty says:

      Mrs K lucky you!
      My tadpoloes were ‘donated’ (or perhaps I should say ‘liberated’) ones!
      Again lucky you, I’d love to see one on the plot on the other pond.
      I’ll try that, perhaps tomorrow if I remember! xx

  12. Glo says:

    Actually, I think you might have been complaining 😉 about the heat that is. It would be great to harness some for the cold winter ahead. Did you know we are smack dab in the middle of Christmas — 6 months either way!

    Isn’t that just the sweetest froglet ever? I wonder if it is Scout, the one that saves the rest from Digger Fox. There’s magic in that washing bowl pond.

    What a lovely bowl of strawberries. I have picked and eaten 2. Our coolish weather earlier has interfered with ripening fruit. The cherries are looking a little pale still…although the robins don’t seem to mind. Whoops… long comment!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I might at that, but don’t tell anyone! It comes round far to quickly without being reminded of it.
      It may be but have a look at today’s post!
      It’s been another bumper year but I’m waiting for the raspberries and blackberries. I hope that your cherries ripen and that you get to eat some.
      That’s okay! xx

Leave a Reply

