My springwatching

I’ve really been enjoying watching Springwatch on TV,Β  and looking at the excellent website inbetween times. It continues next week on BBC2 at 8.00pm Monday through Thursday. Note that Springwatch Unsprung is on Friday at 8.00pm rather than following the main programme on Thursday, as it is today.

Last week whilst plotting I got a good look at a green woodpecker which flew low across the site at low level. I’ve also seen a couple of house sparrows on my raspberries and roses, and on Joe’s broad beans.

I’ve been catching glimpses of a fox, probably Fox Digger, recently and on Monday morning he rather warily ventured fairly closeHe then came up the path and I would have got a good photo of him had I not sneezed!

At home I noticed that the usual handful of starlings had almost doubled in number and a closer look showed that some of them were youngsters.Β  Yesterday afternoon I saw a female chaffinch, firstly on it’s own then with a much more colourful male.

Tomorrow evening on BBC2 TV at 7.00pm is the down-to-earth comedy film Grow Your Own which I shall enjoy watching again.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to My springwatching

  1. Louise says:

    I recorded Grow your Own when it was last on TV, and still haven’t watched it yet! Fox Digger has dark fur, looks almost a black fox as shown on Springwatch. Re your comment on my latest post, lucky you for seeing young goldfinches and robins! x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise I’m sure that you’ll enjoy it when you do watch it! Yes his dark back is noticable.
      Thanks I only saw them a couple of days but not since! xx

  2. Jo says:

    I haven’t managed to catch Springwatch at all, I just don’t seem to have had any time recently. I’ve seen Grow Your Own before too, certainly worth a second watch. It’s nice to see that the fox is still about, he looks in good shape too. So many of the foxes in urban areas look very thin and mangy.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo if you get a chance have a look at the website, and the photo gallery in particular.
      Yes he looks good which is a blessing. I had a dead one on the plot last year which was in a truly pitiful state. It’s sad, but not surprising, that many of them only survive a few years. xx

  3. Great to see the picture of the fox. The only time I have ever seen a fox in life was when we stayed in Edinburgh, believe it or not. Very early one morning I saw one wandering about the lane behind the flat we were staying in.

  4. Glo says:

    Oh dear, achoooo… just as you’ve got the perfect photo framed! It’s a little bit funny πŸ˜‰
    In the first picture, Fox looks the sly and cunning part, but I bet your sneeze soon set him right.

    It’s been more like autumn watch around here…there are so many ways that the weatherman says the forecast — intermittent rain, slight showers, partly cloudy with rain, isolated showers…it all means the same, not much sun! Saturday is supposed to be sunny πŸ™‚

    • Flighty says:

      Glo it was a sudden out of nowhere sneeze so there was no chance of stiffling it! I think that he’s just being very wary as he usually keeps well away.
      Let’s hope the weather there, and indeed here, improves. It’s been dull, showery and windy here much of the time so we could do with sunshine.
      Have a good weekend! xx

  5. Doris says:

    I love the picture of the fox when you sneezed πŸ™‚

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Ah! You did well for a photo mid-sneeze!

  7. lady_drid says:

    Hi Flighty! Great photos!
    You are right, the Brazilian wolf (lobo-guarΓ‘) looks like a fox!
    Your plot must be wonderful in the new season, your photos prove it.
    Hugs, my friend.

    • Flighty says:

      Lady drid hello, and thanks! They do look very similar don’t they.
      Yes now that everything is growing it looking great with lots of flowers, fruit and vegetables to come.
      Take care, and hugs! xx

Leave a Reply

