It’s been another good week!

I started this blog 3 years ago today with this post since when I’ve done over 400 more nearly half of which have been in the category Flighty’s plot.

The enjoyment that I’ve had throughout that time both plotting and blogging about it has been immeasurable. My thanks to everyone who has stopped by, and especially to those of you who have commented as well.

The weather was cooler, but still dry and sunny, for much of last week so I made the most of it. I’ve now all but finished planting and sowing, which is just as well because I’ve just about run out of space.

I mentioned that my attempt to grow tomatoes from seed was a dismal failure so Plan B was to buy a few at the trading shed today.Β  However on Thursday Joe very kindly took pity on me and gave me two cherry, two ordinary and a medium beefsteak which I planted straight away.

Next year I shall try again to grow my own!

Ellen, a friend over on Allotments 4 All , was good enough to send me a few collomia Grandiflora plants which I planted on Friday. I also sowed yet more nasturtiums and sunflowers! They included nasturtium Salmon Baby, which is a foot high semi-double, in the long planter and sunflower Pacino, which only grows one and half feet tall, on the plot.

TheΒ  climbing beans, like these French bean Blue Lake, have started showingand yesterday I sowed the sweet corn Double Standard, along with a couple each courgette Black Beauty, cucumber Marketmore and pumpkin Hooligan F1 Hybrid. I’d barely finished when it started raining which then continued for most of the day.

Daffy sent me Rescue Me: My Life with the Battersea Dogs by Melissa Wareham which I’ve been enjoying reading.

So all in all I have to to say that it’s been another good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to It’s been another good week!

  1. jo says:

    I have only just found your blog and am enjoying reading your posts. I am a novice gardener with just a couple of raised beds in the garden of my new build property. Am sure I am going to learn by my mistakes.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo hello and welcome! It’s always nice to read that someone enjoys my blog.
      We all make mistakes, and hopefully learn from them. My advice is to enjoy what you do, be patient and don’t be afraid to ask even the silliest of questions! Happy gardening! xx

  2. Damo says:

    Happy Anniversary Flighty, keep on plotting and blogging!

  3. Jo says:

    Happy third anniversary. I’ve still got lots of seedlings in the greenhouse waiting to be planted out, I’ll get around to it eventually. The book looks like a good read, it’s the type of book I enjoy too.

  4. Happy blogging birthday – I read your blog frequently, although I haven’t left a comment before. It’s always enjoyable and interesting and your pictures are a treat πŸ™‚ Many more happy years!

    • Flighty says:

      Griselda hello, and many thanks for your kind words!
      I shall have a good look at your blog later on, which looks to be an enjoyable read! xx

  5. Ellie says:

    Happy Birthday to your blog. I find it hard to believe that three years have passed since you were thinking of getting an allotment – how time flies!

    I’ve also planted Courgette Black Beauty and Blue Lake beans – great minds think alike and all that. (Though I don’t suppose yours have been nibbled by rabbits like mine!) x

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie many thanks, and yes it really has flown by. It’s been enjoyable, great fun, hard work at times but so worthwhile.
      I think that we both got the BBC Dig In seeds! Thankfully there’s no rabbits on the allotments here, but it’s bad enough with foxes, pigeons, slugs and squirrels to contend with! xx

  6. daffy says:

    Hi!
    So glad you are enjoying the book…and the blogging!
    xx

  7. nikkipolani says:

    WoW! A blogaversary πŸ™‚ And a great collection of posts as your plot matures and grows. Wishing you the best with those tomatoes. I’m going to depend on my aunt (where Minou lives) to supply the home-grown tomatoes.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki they seem to come round far too quickly! Thanks, the plot always seems to give me something to blog about.
      Being Joe’s they’re bound to okay, besides which he’ll be keeping his eye on them as well. I like your Plan B! xx

  8. happy blog birthday πŸ™‚

    sending you wonderful wishes for bountiful harvests and beautiful blooms!

  9. Louise says:

    Keep blogging Flighty! I like to pop over when time permits, and always look forward to updates on all your growing. I have concerns over my tomatoes, they don’t seem to be moving, and there’s a possibility of not having any this year? My runner beans and summer squash are looking healthy though, also the beetroot. The weather looks good, so for most of today I plan to be outside pottering and enjoying the garden. x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise I will ! Fingers crossed that your tomatoes will be okay. It’s good to see that everything else is doing well.
      I hope that enjoyed your day in the garden, it’s certainly been good weather for it! xx

Leave a Reply

