Dandelions, buttercup and goose bumps!

Dandelions have been most prolific this year which wasn’t good news for most of us!

There’s no denying that both the flowerand seedhead are pretty but they are tenacious weeds on our allotments and in the garden.

Whilst cursing trying to dig up the ones on the plot I must say that those scattered across the grass out back at home were a wonderful sight.

I came across this dandelion poem which I rather like.

Another weed with pretty flowers is the creeping buttercup There are plenty of these on the plot which I keep in check apart from the ones surrounding the dustbin lid pond.

In view of the cold, wet and windy weather here yesterday I wonder if anyone celebrated World Naked Gardning Day,Β  and if they did then I reckon that they must have got goose bumps!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Dandelions, buttercup and goose bumps!

  1. Jo says:

    I’ve noticed that there’s been a lot of dandelions around this year, there’s lots on the allotment, along with creeping buttercup unfortunately. Well, I’ve heard of some things, but World Naked Gardening Day.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo there’s way too many of both when I’m weeding them!
      It made me laugh but it’s definitely not an event I’d celebrate! xx

  2. Maureen says:

    Yes the dandelions have been very noticeable this year. I loved the poem! Thanks for sharing.

    • Flighty says:

      Maureen hello! They look nice on grass areas but too many can become a real problem.
      I’m glad that you like too, you’re welcome! xx

  3. Doris says:

    Your photos have captured the beauty of these quite lovely flowers. And thanks for the link to the Dandelion poem(s). Very nice.

    • Flighty says:

      Doris thanks, it’s pleasing that they have done that!
      You’re welcome, that’s one I’ve not seen before which caught my eye. xx

  4. alisonkoh says:

    these are weeds? but they are pretty, especially the yellow ones.

    • Flighty says:

      Alison hello, yes they are weeds!
      It’s often said here that weeds are just flowers in the wrong place, as they are often pretty like these ones. xx

  5. nikkipolani says:

    I don’t think I’d mind that buttercup growing in my garden! We’ve got goosebumps here, too, though not from lack of clothing — there’s a cold front coming through and it suddenly feels like a good time to be inside with a cup of tea πŸ™‚

  6. Louise says:

    Sorry Flighty, not even beautiful verse can persuade me to love Dandelions. The side of our drive is covered in them. It’s a devil of a job in keeping them from spreading out the back. x

  7. Liz says:

    Do you eat young dandelion greens? Friends of ours in Canada gave my then 4-year-old daughter pocket money to pick as many dandelion flowers as she could find for wine-making. She came out quite well financially as I recall.

Leave a Reply

