Rhubarb, a ladybird and elephants!

Yesterday I picked the first of my own rhubarb. It was just four stems which as you can see were finger thick and about nine inches long.That was enough to cut into inch pieces, gently stew for a couple of minutes then eat with a sprinkling of demerara sugar. Delicious!

On one of the leaves when I went to pick the stems was a less usual orange-yellow ladybird which I think was a 22-spot rather than a harlequin. I would have taken a photo of it but by the time I got the camera it had gone!

If you live in London and like elephants then look out for the forthcoming  Elephant Parade. My thanks to NiC for mentioning this on his ever excellent London Nature Photo Blog.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Rhubarb, a ladybird and elephants!

  1. Jo says:

    I bet your rhubarb tasted delicious. I still haven’t picked any of mine, but I should get my first taste this week. I wonder how many of those Elephants you’ll spot around London.

  2. Glo says:

    Yum! A spring aperitif! Is that the first taste of anything from the plot this year? Is that a bamboo stick with natural markings, or have you measured it off in inches? Is that enough questions? 😉

    • Flighty says:

      Glo that sounds very posh for what was a bowl of stewed rhubarb! Yes it is, and there’s hopefully lots more to come.
      That is a one foot bamboo cane marked off in inches, and is one of several canes/sticks variously marked.
      I’m always happy to answer any questions! xx

  3. Louise says:

    I’ve just been given a Rhubarb crown and hope to keep this one alive! Strangely so I hardly ever see a ladybird in my garden? x

  4. nikkipolani says:

    Hey, perfect little dessert for one 🙂 You remind me that I have some frozen rhubarb that should get eaten up! Have a great weekend, Flighty.

  5. menhir says:

    I’m not sure where the rhubarb is arriving from that I have seen here. I think it is a little early for Scottish stock.

  6. Ellie says:

    Lucky you! Rhubarb is delicious. Sadly, the crown that I managed to transplant from our former allotment has produced one stem – it was still in a bucket, now planted out, so fingers crossed!

  7. your rhubarb sounds delicious! it is just starting to ripen around here too, though a bit early this year.

  8. Maureen says:

    What a lovely treat for you, Flighty! I bet it was delicious, even more so since the rhubarb came from your allotment.

    I think the elephant parade in London is a fabulous idea. Must be fun to spot one – or more!

    • Flighty says:

      Maureen it certainly was a treat, and that ‘it’s mine’ factor made it taste even better!
      I’m sure that they’ll be in the news, and making people smile when they see them. xx

  9. Liz says:

    Yum! That rhubarb looks so good. I have two plants in my flower beds; one is like yours, producing lovely stalks of rhubarb (tho’ not in January). The other sends up the most exotic-looking flowerhead, which I cut and put in a vase for display last year. Haven’t tried the rhubarb from that particular plant because the stalks don’t look right either. I am sure this is a figment of my imagination.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz thanks, I have two plants as well. The rhubarb on most of the plots sent up flower heads one year which surprised a lot of people, I guess that the weather caused that to happen. xx

Leave a Reply

