Shades and shapes

On Thursday I decided not to dig, plant, sow or weed but have a close look at everything that’s growing on the plot.

Here are many of the plants, mostly showing the varying shades and shapes of flower, soft fruit and weed foliage.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It rained during Friday night but was nice yesterday so I spent the afternoon digging, weeding and chatting with plot neighbours. There’s been a lot more rain overnight with more to come during the day soΒ  it’ll be a few days before it’s okay to plot again. When I do I’ll be starting to sow flower seeds as the groundΒ  will be ideal to do that. Everything will growing away including the weeds, although in damp soil they are somewhat easier to deal with.

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Shades and shapes

  1. Jo says:

    It can be so busy at this time of year that we forget to take a step back and look at everything. Lovely photos. I’m just starting to get some flowers on my strawberry plants too.

  2. Jenny Aspin says:

    Looking at what is growing – yes, I can handle that. It’s the rest of it that I find difficult! πŸ˜‰

  3. mrs K says:

    A weed is just a plant/flower in the wrong place.

    Think Wisteria – a weed in China.

  4. mrs K says:

    One of the unknowns looks like Jacob’s ladder.

    Will have another look soon, as I think I recognised another two.

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Wonderful series of shots, Flighty. So much going on at your plot! Love the bright green of the crocosmia leaves and that darling lady bug on the raspberry leaves. I think your “Unknown-3” might be yarrow.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki sorry I missed this comment!
      Thanks, I’m glad that you like them. There is indeed.
      There two good ones aren’t they! I’ll sort out what the unknowns are and do an update on them. xx

  6. Doris says:

    Wonderful photographs! I especially like the one of the ladybird on a raspberry bush. Also the teasel and the forget-me-nots. It’s so nice to see life in such profusion!

  7. Glo says:

    What a great slideshow of your numerous plants on Plot 124. Everything looks very healthy ~ and you even have a bud on one of your roses! Well my pruned rose sticks are getting some leaves, but no sign of buds yet. I find it interesting to see so many similar plants from the UK and here. Your rhubarb is looking good, too ~ and even strawberry plants flowering! Sounds like you are having a great time plotting, planting and chatting ~ with a bit of rest when the rain comes. Looking forward to seeing how your plants continue to grow πŸ™‚

    • Flighty says:

      Glo many thanks! I just hope that it stays that way. Seeing the rosebud was a bit of a surprise!
      I’ll be picking and eating some of the rhubarb later this week.
      I am indeed enjoying both plotting and blogging depending on the weather, which is cool and windy today after a day of rain yesterday!
      I’m sure that there’ll be lots to look at over the coming months. xx

  8. Damo says:

    Great photos Flighty! Being a bit tech-challenged how do you do the slide show?

  9. Louise says:

    I’ve enjoyed looking through the plants on your plot Flighty. Unknown 1 looks like a Poppy. Unknown 2 looks like Lemon Balm. Unknown 3 looks like Achillea. I hope you discover their titles, and let us know. I was dodging the showers in my garden over the weekend. x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise thanks! You’re definitely right with Unknown 2 and I will check the others and let you all know.
      Saturday was good here but the rest of the weekend wasn’t! xx

  10. Liz says:

    Goodness! You are now onto slide shows! I wish I was as clever on my computer. There is so much to learn and I am not a tech-savvy person! A friend gave me the address and link to the local computer society the other day where he swears the light bulb will go on in my head! We live in hopes.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz I’ve not done one since as it took me ages to do! I sympathise as I still find it hard going at times. I believe in keeping it simple and straight forward if possible. xx

Leave a Reply

