Being bothered!

Yesterday evening I went to the  Newton Park Horticultural Society’s Annual General Meeting, which was held in the hall of a local small primary school.  Not surprisingly only around 25 people attended, which is approximately 10% of the membership.  We heard that membership is up slightly, sales are good and the finances sound. All the present committee members were happy to carry on , there were no ructions and it was all over in an hour!

It’s a Bank Holiday weekend and on Monday after lunch I will walk to the nearby  St. Andrew’s Church and have a look round the Community Fete that’s being held. The horticultural society will have a stall there selling lots of plants along with a selection of smaller items that are sold in the trading shed.  If needed I shall  help out with setting up the stall first thing.

Next Thursday both local government and parliamentary elections are being held here in the UK and I shall be back at the church, which is my polling station, to vote.  It saddens me that so many people who are eligible to vote simply don’t bother, and  I feel that they have no real legitimacy if they later express vociferous opinions about the council and/or goverment.

Have a look at The pothole gardener for someone who bothers in a very different way with his off the wall gardening.

Four very different events all of which depend on people who can be bothered to get involved, take part or turn up. Many of them put in a lot of effort and spend a lot of time for very little,  if any,  material reward and I for one applaud them all for being bothered!

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Being bothered!

  1. Carrie says:

    ‘No such thing as society’ – pah! Sounds like a good week ahead, people getting involved in the world around them, caring for themselves *and* others (for a change). I would love to come to the fete, but it’s a little far away, I hope there’s a cake stall – yummy. Plus I shall be voting – try and stop me, too many people have fought a hard won battle to enable me to do so, it is a priviledge I do not take lightly.

    Hugs to you Flighty, have a good long weekend x

  2. menhir says:

    It is a problem not bothering, especially when people disenfranchise themselves. If they have no inkling of how hard their votes were fought for would it be any different?

    There is a great deal of disillusionment not just in the UK, but in many countries. I know of one young man who having decided he had no party and no one person he wanted to vote for, has, following meetings with politicians in his country, started the growth of a new political movement.

    These are difficult times, complicated to understand in the wider sense, notwithstanding that, there is an understanding what is about to follow will hurt, and hurt some groups and individuals a great deal…mostly those that have little, or those who do have just a little. I can understand therefore, (though I don’t empathise with it) why many people will not vote.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir thanks for your perceptive comment which I agree with, especially your last paragraph.
      It’ll be interesting to see what happens next week, and what further, if any, parliamentary reforms will take place beyond that. xx

  3. Jo says:

    A thought provoking post, Flighty. I think there’s always those who just will not bother, whether it be voting in an election, being involved in their own communtiy or attending meetings to do with something they’re already involved with. If only they realised that ‘being involved’ brings with it greater opportunities for themselves and enriches their own lives. I will be voting in the elections, supporting my own allotment society, attending the local fete, and I shall also pop back to take a better look at The pothole gardener, which look very interesting. Hope you enjoy the Bank Holiday weekend.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks! At times it seems like a never ending downward spiral but I’m always hopeful that enough new people will carry on in the future.
      That blog really does make for interesting reading.
      Enjoy it, and the weekend! xx

  4. nikkipolani says:

    I like and appreciate your take on “bothering.” So often people think their presence isn’t needed — “no one will miss me.” As with any group, the presence of a person changes the dynamics of the event even subtly. So good for you for “bothering” and hope the Community Fete is full of others like you 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki thankfully there are usually enough keen folk to keep things going.
      Bothering doesn’t take much effort, or generally cost much, and is often most enjoyable!
      Enjoy the weekend! xx

  5. mrs K says:

    I have already voted, postal voter.

    Two things I want before I pop my clogs.

    Fine every person who is entitled to vote and did not. It would be a large fine or compulsory attendance at lessons on how democracy cannot survive without full participation. No excuses please.

    Put the clock forward to double summertime and forbid anybody to put it back.

    Today, the forget-me- nots are blooming and I picked four sticks of rhubarb. No, I did not cook them, I made a sugar cone and dipped and bit. Yippee.

  6. Glo says:

    I’ve enjoyed your posts Flighty, way back to the lovely butterfly photo you took. Your allotment looks terrific and it must feel good to be able to get out in it after that long cold winter. Things are looking good here too…Now that the cherry blossoms have blown delicately away and about, the lilac, apple blossom, dogwoods, etc. are blooming. It’s a lovely time of the year…

    Interesting politics over there…we hear a fair bit about it on our news as well.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks, it’s good to know that you’re still looking at and enjoying my posts!
      I was determined to make a real effort this year, especially after the winter, and I try to do some plotting almost every day.
      Yes I’ve noticed that much of the blossom has now gone sadly, it’s a pity that it’s so short lived.
      Yes it is, but this time I really do have rather different thoughts about it all! xx

  7. Damo says:

    Agree Flighty, it’s good to be bothered, be it voting, charity fundraising, your local society or whatever you choose to do. A guy in our village is organising a litter pick, simple, an hour or two, it will be interesting to see how many people turn up!

    • Flighty says:

      Damo good for you! It does annoy me when people aren’t even prepared to give an hour or so of their time. I have to say that litter is one of my real bugbears! Cheers.

Leave a Reply

