It’s looking good…

said a couple of  neighbours about the plot during the week and I have to agree with them! I’ve been plotting every day bar one for over a week making the most of the good weather.

As you can see the onions are  starting to appear and  I’ve sowed the first lot of salad mixed leaves, beetroot Cylindra and carrot Royal Chantenay Red. I’m doing a short row of each, and will do the same again with different varieties each week or so for the next month. I’ve put up the canes for the various beans I’m going to grow although sowing them is still a month away!

On Friday I planted three groups,  each of five, of different gladioli spread around the plot. They’re Goldfield (a deep golden yellow) and Invitatie (two-tone pink) both of which are tall (90cm) large flowering ones along with That’s Love which is smaller (60cm) and has frilled flowers of rich pink with a red centre.

I shall start to sow my flower seeds soon and yesterday morning I dug out this new small bed for sunflowers which is in the north-west corner.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to It’s looking good…

  1. Jo says:

    It certainly is looking good. It sounds like you are bang on track with everything. I love sunflowers, I’m growing three different varieties this year.

  2. Louise says:

    I envy your allotment neighbours. What a tidy plot you have Flighty. I finally got to sow some beetroot yesterday, Boltardy and Bull’s Blood! x

  3. nikkipolani says:

    I’d love to be a little robin visiting your plot as you tend the flowerbeds and keep watch over the veggies. It all looks beautiful.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I wonder what a bird’s eye view of it all, and me, looks like! Thanks! xx
      Incidently the gloves tucked in the spade handle are the ones you sent me, and which now have holes in several of the finger tips!

  4. Damo says:

    All looking good, I put in some glads today, Mexico and Passo, didn’t realise until I watched GW that they take 100 days to flower, so I’m planting over the next couple of weekends to stretch the flowering time, that’s the theory anyway.

  5. menhir says:

    It is a delightfully shaped plot and the varied plants in it are looking really happy. xx

    🙂

  6. Ryan says:

    It sure is looking good.

    My onions are looking similar to yours at the moment and everything else is just coming to life. Very exciting indeed!

    Keep up the good work.

    Ryan

    • Flighty says:

      Ryan hello and thanks! It’s good to look round and see things starting to grow.
      I’ll certainly try! I’ve bookmarked your blog and will have a good look round later on. Cheers.

  7. Mildew says:

    It’s looking great Flighty! I love that you’ve put things out for wildlife like the log.

    • Flighty says:

      Mildew hello and thanks! I’ve a couple of logs, and a logpile, which as well as being features are beneficial for all sorts of wildlife.
      I see that you’re posting on your blog again so I’ll catch up with it later on! xx

Leave a Reply

