On and off the plot

Last Monday I was pleased to see that the handful of first early potatoes that I planted on 13th March are now starting to show

A couple of  hours on Thursday was spent weeding, but definitely not speeding!

Yesterday was a glorious still, sunny and warm day. I wasn’t really in the mood to do much so after digging over the patch where I’ll be sowing beetroot, carrot and lettuce seeds sometime soon I spent the rest of the time having a good look at everything.  I took lots of foliage photos which I’ll try and put together as a slideshow post for later in the week.

This is the view that was missing from the Round the plot post which shows the bottom half of the eastern edge from the compost bin to the old dustbin incineratorOn the left are the strawberries, raspberries and blackberry and to the right of the daffodils are the comfrey plants which I’ll leave to flower as the bees love them. The onion sets are planted in the patch on the right.

Off the plot, but nearby, Joe’s cherry tree is full of blossom as is his mimosa [click on these for larger pictures and a lot more detail.]

Walking home past the flats that overlook the allotments plot neighbour Bill was weeding his tiny front garden. I stopped to chat and he said that he had something for me.  It was a large packet of wild flower field poppy mix which he was sure that I could use.

Sitting on the low wall we noticed that a Peacock butterfly had settled on the nearby flowers and I was quick, and lucky, enough to get this photo of it!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to On and off the plot

  1. nikkipolani says:

    Wow! That’s an amazing shot of the butterfly!
    And how nice to see progress with your potatoes and comfrey.

  2. oanh says:

    Fantastic photo of the butterfly! I never manage to capture them – always too slow.
    Isn’t the weather currently wonderful?

    • Flighty says:

      Oanh thanks! I know the feeling, but thankfully this one stayed still long enough for me to take a photo.
      Yes indeed, I’ve been making the most of it on the plot! xx

  3. Louise says:

    I dug over my patch this evening. I’m doing beetroot too. The blossom photos are lovely. I didn’t realise Mimosa was hardy enough for our climate. Maybe because I have only seen it in my Grandpa’s garden in Mallorca! I saw a Peacock butterfly today too. Has yours landed on Aubrietia? Your photo is great Flighty! x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise we’ve obviously both been making the most of the good weather! The Peacocks clearly liked it too as I saw several yesterday, and yes that does look like aubrietia.
      Many thanks! xx

  4. Doris says:

    I LOVE the photo of the butterfly!! Perfect capture!! You should submit this to a photo contest if possible. Great work!!

  5. Jo says:

    I’ve seen lots of butterflies around already this year, which is good as I hardly saw any last year. Do you make a liquid feed from your comfrey leaves? I’m going to have a go at this with mine.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo there’s certainly been a lot around the past few days.
      I usually just put the comfrey leaves on the compost heap but like you I’m going to make a liquid feed! xx

  6. sounds to me like you had a great day in the garden! that shot of the peacock butterfly is amazing!

  7. Pingback: The Art of Stalking a Butterfly | Unique Schmuck

  8. Liz says:

    What an extraordinarily lovely butterfly.

Leave a Reply

