At long last

This week has been dry, sunny and warm so at long last I’ve been able to plant/sow my broad beans, onion sets and seed potatoes.

Looking round the plot, which looks decidedly undulating in this photo,I came across this rather pretty double daffodil

It looks like the  dustbin lid pondhas a slight leak as water seems to disappear rather too quickly. I guess that I’ll have to empty and clean it and have a look!  The small white flowers are in fact lemon yellow primroses

One or both of the robins kept me company for much of the time, especially when I was digging the potato trenches, often at less than arm’s length away. One morning I heard a bird singing close by that wasn’t one of these and looking round I spotted a wren perched on a nearby low fence. I also watched a pair of mallard ducks fly a couple of very low circuits overhead the site.

In the warm sunshine there’s been plenty of bumble and honey bees, both brown and white butterflies and ladybirds. Plot neighbur Lorna told me that she’d seen Fox Missy one evening and thinks that she has had cubs. We’ve seen few foxes since last autumn so this is good news and we’ll be keeping an eye out for them.  A bright eyed and bushy tailed Fox Junior continues to guard the log pileand keep watch on the plot for me.

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to At long last

  1. Jo says:

    What a difference a couple of sunny days makes, it seems we’ve all been getting on with things on our plots. Nice to know that the robins are still around, waiting for you to uncover some tasty worms for them, and it’s good news on the fox front.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I think that we’re all glad to be plotting again at long last! I really enjoy seeing the robins like that, and hopefully the foxes will keep the rats at bay! xx

  2. Damo says:

    I like your dustbin lid pond idea.

  3. Chris says:

    the dustbin lid pond is an awesome idea. nice one

  4. nikkipolani says:

    I like that across-the-plot shot showing your various planting areas. That double daff is certainly a pretty one. And the pale lemon primrose is so delicate in its simplicity. Love it that the birds are hanging out. Think they’re giving you advice?

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it’ll be nice when all that brown turns green!
      Yes I like that daffodil, and the primroses.
      There’s usually plenty of birds to be seen, usually after food so probably telling me to get digging! xx

  5. menhir says:

    Your floral displays look very much like those that are around my home area just now. There are daffodils in abundance, glorious colouration from them everywhere. Primroses of course, many growing very wild. We spotted loads of clumps of them around the cliffs and coves yesterday.

    Foxes are becoming regular city dwellers now. That’s where it has become easier to forage. A relative has a super picture of a fox taking food from an allotment owner in Edinburgh.

    Are metal dustbin lids easy to come by now; would you fare better with a plastic one for a wee pond?

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir it’s good to know that you’ve caught up with all the spring flowers!
      Foxes have long been city dwellers! My plot neighbour Lorna hand feeds them but as yet no photos!
      This one is a plastic lid, and checking it this morning looks okay and had plenty of tiny pond life.
      I’ve corrected the typos and deleted the other comment! xx

  6. Ellie says:

    Glad you’ve managed to plant something – it’s such a lift when the weather is warm and pleasant and there are signs of growth!

    I like the idea of the dustbin lid pond too – but do you have to top up the water lost by evaporation? x

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie so am I, as even I was getting a bit impatient to do so!
      As for signs of growth the foliage of the handful of early potatoes that I planted a month ago has just started appearing!
      Yes I do have to top them both up! I thought that this one had a slight leak but there’s no sign of one. xx

  7. Doris says:

    Anything “foxy” catches my attention. I finally photographed a fox this weekend after 11 months of only one sighting. Hope you see lots of them!

  8. Louise says:

    I’ve managed to get lots of jobs done in the garden with this lovely weather we’ve been having. Sounds like you’ve been very busy too. My Dad has those double daffs in his garden, and I have the primroses! What a treat to have those robins and a wren for company, all very sweet. x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise well done, and yes me too!
      I’ve got just two each double daffodils and primroses.
      There are lots of birds around the site but it’s the robins that always say hello! xx

  9. Sue says:

    I love native primroses – I collected seed from some in my garden and now have a whole border of them on our plot. They are in full flower at the moment and look lovely – guess they remind me of my childhood!

  10. I also like to come to your blog for a natter and a cuppa. Your allotment is looking good. Isn’t it wonderful how things are shooting up everywhere in the garden? Had my first 2 harvests this week: rhubarb and radishes and salad leaves. Yummy!

    cheerio from a sunny Dinteloord,

    Yolanda xx

    • Flighty says:

      Yolanda you, indeed everybody, are always welcome to stop by for tea, biscuits and a chat!
      Thanks, yes it really is so pleasing to see all the new growth, especially after the winter we’ve just had.
      Lucky you, I’ve still got to wait a little while for my rhubarb.
      Happy gardening! xx

  11. Glo says:

    It’s looking good, Flighty ~ and the warmer weather is very encouraging! I love this time of year and it’s good to know that Fox Junior is looking quite contented as well. Did you find a split in the dustbin lid pond? Did you have to replace it?

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks, and yes it certainly is! Me too, and I think that Junior is pleased that I’ve cleared the long grass around him so that he has got a better view!
      I checked the pond and found that it’s okay so I guess that the water mostly evaporates.

  12. you always paint such a lovely picture! i am especially smitten with that yellow primrose 🙂

Leave a Reply

