Round the plot

The following photos, taken during the week before last,  give a general overview of  the plot. The first three photos are taken from the shed area going anti-clockwise.

First is the north west (top right) quarter where I grow flowers. In the middle is the Valentine Heart rose and to the right of it is the  elder tree. The dustbin lid pond is half way up on the left and the top right corner beyond the teasels is left to grew wild.

The north west (top left) quarter will be where I’m growing the potatoes this year. At the top right you can see both the log and daffodils and my rhubarb as shown in the previous post. On the right is the (yet to flower) Iceberg rose, which I moved last autumn,  and  on the left the stone feature containing a rosemary which is roughly in the middle of the plot.

To the south, on the mulched woodchip patch, are the raspberries and strawberries with the Pretty lady rose in front of them. On the rest of this area I’ll be growing beetroot, carrots and broad beans. At the top right is a small area, that I generally leave alone, containing the log pile and washing up bowl pond.  The south east corner of the plot is the middle top of this photo and the grass path going to the left is the southern (bottom) edge. The  area between that and the parallel grass path is for onions, tomatoes, sweetcorn and runner beans.

This is the view from the northern (top) edge looking towards the pallet patio, shed and compost bin, which are about half way down the eastern edge. Out of view behind them is the blackberry bush, which tends to grow rather large and is very prickly! Beyond that are a row of comfrey plants plants ending up at an old metal dustbin standing in the south-west corner which is used as an incinerator.

Hopefully in just a couple months time there’ll be lots of flowers and vegetables starting  to cover this somewhat bare looking plot.

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Round the plot

  1. Jenny Aspin says:

    This is really impressive, Flighty. When can you come to work your magic on our garden? 😉

    • Flighty says:

      Jenny thanks, although hard work that’s really the easy part! Sorry, much as I would like to there’s more than enough to keep me busy here. xx

  2. Ellie says:

    It looks in very good shape considering the amount of rain we’ve had. It also looks quite big – is it a full sized traditional allotment?

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie I was lucky to get a few days when the ground was quite workable.
      In fact it’s relatively small, being a half plot about 30 by 60 feet. xx

  3. nikkipolani says:

    I love how well-tended that soil is looking — perfect for growing all your lovely veggies and flowers. Maybe you’ll take these same views again later in the season when the potatoes are putting out their greens, the berries are loading up, and the roses sprouting leaves.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki thanks, however when I looked yesterday the weeds were starting to grow again but hopefully I’ll be plotting today and during the week.
      Yes that’s what I intend doing, and we’ll be able to see how it all progresses. xx

  4. Jo says:

    It’s all looking good, and is ready for planting up. I went to the allotment yesterday but didn’t get any jobs done as everywhere is still far too wet. I’m just hoping for some let up in the rain so that it can dry out a bit.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks! It’s been cool and breezy but dry the past couple of days so I planted/sowed some broad beans, onions and potatoes this morning. Fingers crossed that you can make a start soon as well! xx

  5. menhir says:

    Hello Mr F,

    I was taken with your outline design for the plot. Everyone got so bound with the traditional mini runrig shape for allotments. It is refreshing and probably inspiring to others to see yours, and for them then to work out their plot designs too.

    Then, there were the runner bean canes at one end, the root veg somewhere, where ne’er the twain shall meet, meeting in the middle were cabbages and salad veg at various times of the year.

    I suppose it all revolved around the digging of trenches for planting; a straight line being the obvious way to work. Obvious yes, but why thinking hasn’t come out of the box to use edge space differently before now, is anyone’s guess.

    From what I have deduced so far here, some of your flowers have an edible and garden life purpose. You seem to be creating a small ‘garden’ that is shapely, functional and attractive. That in my book, means a number of elements to enjoy in different ways.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I suppose that it’s not surprising that most plots had traditional layouts, and many still do.
      My plot is also my garden hence the rather more informal look.
      I get immeasurable pleasure when I’m there, whatever I’m doing, and it goes way beyond having somewhere I can grow vegetables.
      This mornings uplifting highlight was just standing looking, and listening, to a wren perched on a nearby fence. xx

  6. what a wonderful garden layout! i’m looking forward to seeing your crops grow throughout the season 🙂

  7. Glo says:

    I think Plot 124 should be very proud of itself, looking all spruced up and tidy ~ and even though the weeds might be popping up again, they’ll be easy to spot ~ and will be whisked away in no time flat… Seeing the layout reminded me of the map of the plot last year. Great organization and good job done to date, Flighty!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo it’s been well worth the effort so far, and now that I’ve actually started planting and sowing I feel that the season is properly underway.
      Once everything is done I’ll update the plot map!
      Many thanks! xx

  8. Duke Ellington says:

    Flighty was a real dustbin lid used as a pond? If it was I would like to copy that idea. Its hard to believe its deep enough.

  9. Louise says:

    A man after my own heart! Your allotment space is so tidy Flighty. It’s an absolute treat to see. I am so looking forward to seeing how it looks fully planted! x

  10. Liz says:

    Your soil looks wonderful. Your careful tending and adding amendments is paying off.

Leave a Reply

