Happy Easter!

Although the sun is shining this morning it’s cool and windy, and the forecast is for unsettled weather throughout the weekend which is all too typical for Easter!

That means that I’m unlikely to do much, if any,  plotting  and I’ll still be waiting to plant and sow the first of my broad beans, onions and potatoes. Thankfully the plot is all ready as I finished digging it over during last week.

I was there on Sunday and was pleased to see that the daffodils are blooming

and that my rhubarb is growing well

I’ll be at home all weekend so no doubt I’ll be doing plenty of sofa flying.

This morning the postman delivered the first of the Will Turner novels, The Aviator’s Apprentice, which I’m looking forward to reading,  and the classic James Stewart film The Spirit of St. Louis is being shown on TV Monday afternoon which I’ll enjoy watching again.

Happy Easter!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Happy Easter!

  1. Jo says:

    Happy Easter, Flighty. I was hoping to follow tradition and get my spuds in the ground tomorrow, but it doesn’t look like we’ll have the weather for it. Our weather sounds very similar to your’s, sunny but very cold and windy. I think the allotment will still be very wet as we’ve had nothing but rain this week. There are still no buds on my daffodils, they’re very late this year.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks, you too! The weather here has been a real mix, and although I’ve not been to the plot all week I’m sure that it’s well claggy again.
      I’m not surprised as everything seems to be well over a month later than usual. xx

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Oh, how picturesque is that log with its companion daffs. Thank you for your Easter card and the lovely book — I’m going to post about it soon as I get home today.

    The weather’s turned cold for a week or so and I’ll be reading my book by the fireside. The cats are nearby because they haven’t quite got the knack of sitting on laps yet. Well, Sammy has, but she prefers roomie’s lap 😦 I think she’s a little afraid of me because I’m the official nail-trimmer. But I enjoy their company and am looking forward to a couple of quiet evenings ahead.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki that’s one of at least six small clumps that are on the plot.
      You’re most welcome and I’m glad that it arrived before Easter!
      There’s nothing like cats for company, especially when they’re gently asleep on your lap.
      Enjoy your weekend! xx

  3. menhir says:

    Happy holidays to you Mr F.

    My windowsill chives are sprouting – they look at bit pathetic; we can grow them outdoors, though not in the foul weather we’ve been experiencing. I’m only playing with chives seedlings because they are one of a set of 3 herb pots for indoor growing I was given as a gift.

    I appear to have one basil seedling – a whole ONE – in pot number two. As for the parsley in pot 3, I am still trusting to luck.

    😉

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir thanks, and to you!
      My fingers are crossed for both yours and my seeds. Mine aren’t doing a lot better yet so I think that we’re both trusting to luck at the moment! xx

  4. Damo says:

    Happy Easter! Typical weather though the spuds will have to wait.

    • Flighty says:

      Damo hello, thanks and to you! As you say typical Easter weather, but hopefully our spuds can be planted soon.
      I’ll have a good look at your blog over the weekend, and doubtless comment as well. Cheers!

  5. Your rhubarb is looking healthy. Happy Easter.

  6. Carrie says:

    have a great weekend, hugs xxx

  7. Glo says:

    Sounds like you’re all set for a Happy Easter. I hope the weather cheers up soon ~ here, too. We’ve all been nearly blown away to the next town. Luckily my power stayed on, but there were many areas with no electricity for hours. Your daffodils are pretty, and nice to have a few clusters of them in your allotment. My rhubarb looks fairly similar to yours ~ stewed rhubarb and custard ~ or rhubarb pie in the making. Yum.

    Happy Easter, Flighty 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Glo apart from the weather, and no plotting, I’m quite happy!
      It sure sounds like you’ve a windy time of it but hopefully it will settle down soon.
      Thanks, they look good scattered around the plot like that.
      I think that we’re both looking forward to eating our rhubarb!
      Thanks, and you! xx

  8. louise says:

    I’ve dug over a space ready for a few veggies this year. Runner beans, summer squash, beetroot etc. Last year, due to pressures of my new job, I didn’t get to do any. I may have even found a space for a small patch of rhubarb? We’ve thankfully escaped a lot of the rain forecast, and as a result I’ve managed to get quite a few jobs done around the garden. Do enjoy your Easter weekend Flighty. x

Leave a Reply

