In the post this week

During last week fellow lawn lounger Jo did this terrific Book Giveaway post  on her blog The Good Life.

On Sunday she followed it up with And The Winner Is… where I was surprised,  and delighted,  to find that it was me!

She posted this book to me on Monday and it arrived the very next day! Once I’ve read it I’ll do the same thing here and send it on to the next winner.

Also in the post this week have been some  seeds from the BBC – Dig In and the RHS fruit & veg pledge.

The BBC ones are a good selection and I’ll probably grow all of them. The RHS pack was very attractive and contained two packets of seeds – tomatoes Gardener’s Delight and carrots Nantes Frubund – which I’ll probably pass on!

I’m also  expecting a small order from Chiltern Seeds. It’s for coleus which I mentioned last weekend,  morning glory Pearly Gates and one other which I’ll tell you about another time. 

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to In the post this week

  1. Louise says:

    I’ve always been rather tempted to grow Coleus. Especially since seeing those lovely fiery varieties on Gardener’s World the other evening. x

  2. renaissance says:

    Nice post, much better than bills huh?

  3. nikkipolani says:

    Congrats on the book — and a great idea to pass it along to others when you’re through. Coleus is wonderfully varietous (is that a word?), isn’t it? I love the range of colours and shapes.

  4. Flighty says:

    Nikki thanks, and yes it’s such a good idea!
    It certainly is, and I’m looking forward to seeing what I get. xx

  5. menhir says:

    You’re on a winning streak Mr F.

    Just as I was getting despondent about my herb seedlings (indoor windowsill variety pots) I think I spotted signs of seedling life. Now we’re threatened with cold weather again!

    I hope the little pots don’t get too cold on the windowsill. I specially waited till the outdoor temperatures rose.

    I was advised today that we hadn’t yet had the lamb and shochet showers. “Nor”, I added ” the May Gobs”. I don’t know what the first two are. I do know what April showers are, though they may not be the same as lamb and shochet. May Gobs at least arrive when it is a bit milder, though, they can be perverse and arrive late or early.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir it sure makes a change if I am!
      I sure that your seedlings will be just fine.
      I must say that none of those sound nice, particularly the May ones! It’s turned cooler and more unsettled here, and as for the likelihood of a good Easter… xx

  6. Jo says:

    Your postman’s been busy this week, Flighty. I got my dig-in seeds too, there’s quite a good selection in them, and they’re different from last year , so that’s good. Hope you enjoy the book.

  7. Glo says:

    Congratulations on your win 🙂 Always nice to get something special in the mail. Sounds like your allotment will be full of promise. Let’s hope the weather helps towards a full and bountiful harvest — but then again, let’s not think that far ahead and just enjoy the spring!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks, it sure makes a welcome change to the usual bills.
      The plot is all ready now, and hopefully I’ll be sowing and planting in earnest from here on. It’ll be June before anything gets harvested so spring will be enjoyed first. xx

  8. Liz says:

    Book giveaway — what a terrific idea.

Leave a Reply

