Signs of spring

On Sunday I stopped by the plot on the way home from the trading shed and was delighted to see the first daffodils in flower,  two ordinary ones 

and a mini daffodil

Yesterday morning I was surprised to see a white butterfly flutter past me and settle in the long grass!Looking at the Butterfly Conservation site it appears to be a  Small White.

It’s certainly not in the same league as this one that NiC photographed over in east London a few days ago.

How about this wonderful photo,  and yesterday’s online Guardian showed Signs of spring 2010 readers photographs.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Signs of spring

  1. Jenny Aspin says:

    Lovely! They are just starting to come out here now too.

  2. Jo says:

    My daffodils are only just poking up out of the soil, I haven’t seen any in bloom yet. Nor have I seen any butterflies, though the first one I saw last year was also a female brimstone. It seems we’re a little behind you here in the North.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I guess yours will be a couple weeks yet! I now think that it was a Small White!
      Perhaps by a couple of weeks but all worth waiting for. xx

  3. deyank says:

    My daffodils have all come up and are flowering like crazy. My whole front flower garden is yellow. I’ll get some pictures and put them in my blog.

    Bill

  4. nikkipolani says:

    Delightful daffs, Flighty! Spring is coming, surely. You are fortunate to get a shot of that butterfly. They just will not settle down for me!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki thanks, there’s lots more to come! I think that we can say that it’s finally here!
      I was lucky to find it in the long grass. I know that you don’t have much luck with them! xx

  5. Doris says:

    What a great post. Lovely photos and the link to the picture of the swan with the little one peeking out from under her wing is priceless. Thanks for brightening my day!

  6. Tina says:

    Jealous, very jealous. lol. I’m barely seeing the tips of mine popping above the soil. It won’t be long, though. ~fingers crossed~ Interestingly enough, my tulips seem to be way ahead of the dafs in growth. I wonder what that’s all about?

    • Flighty says:

      Tina they’ve come into flower very quickly now that it’s been brighter, drier and warmer the past couple of weeks.
      Someone else mentioned that happening and said that it was the first time they’d done that! As to why…? xx

  7. Liz says:

    “Daffodils that come before the swallow dares. . .”

Leave a Reply

