Potting rather than plotting!

Friday and yesterday were both rainy days so I spent some of the time potting rather plotting! Although I sow most of my seeds direct on the plot this year I’ve been determined to both start off,  and grow,  some plants at home.

Top of the list is tomatoes and as I said in that post I’ve gone for The Amateur and the ever popular Gardener’s Delight. Chiltern Seeds says of  the first that it is a tried and tested outdoor bush variety which given a typical English summer is the one most likely to suceed.

I’ve sown some sweet peas Bouquet Blend which have longer stems and larger flowers making it an ideal variety for cut flowers.

Among the seeds that fellow lawn lounger Georgie  kindly sent me were a few geranium Splish Splash, this lovely viola and some blue fescue.

Inspired by Tina’s post Sowing Coleus Seed I’ve ordered some of the variety Fairway which is an extra dwarf formula mixed. I notice reading through the Horticultural Society’s Show Schedule that listed under Other Floral Classes is Coleus, any kind in a container up to 130mm which is now on my list of possible exhibits.

Hopefully once these all start germinating I’ll then take some photos and let you know, and see, the good news!

The weather today, and through to at least Wednesday,  looks like being mostly sunny and warm again so I’ll be back to plotting rather than potting!

Happy gardening!



About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Potting rather than plotting!

  1. VP says:

    Lots of potting going on here too Flighty!

    Geranium ‘Splish Splash’ is lovely 🙂

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  2. Jo says:

    It was raining here too yesterday, so instead I took myself off to the local nursery and stocked up on my bedding plants. I buy them as plugs and grow them on myself, it saves fiddling around with seeds and works out quite economical. It sounds like your plot is going to be very colourful as well as productive.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo that sounds a good way of spending a rainy day.
      I’ll be happy to have spent time fiddling around as I did if the end result is worthwhile!
      I sure hope so! xx

  3. Pilar says:

    such a lovely post… happy gardening to you 🙂

  4. Carrie says:

    Wow, you go for it! Andrew is seed planting like there’s no tomorrow [which is ironic because there really needs to be a tomorrow for it to make sense – wow I’m confusing myself]. Big hugs

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Oh, I hope that Splish Splash does well for you. I’ve seen it in gardens here and it’s very eye-catching. I sowed sweetpeas but perhaps too late in the year for they have not sprouted at all. Hope your tomatoes do well! This weekend is the big tomato-pepper sale at the local arboretum. I resisted since I’ve now reached my limit of failed tomato plants.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I hope so too as it looks to be a lovely flower.
      You’ll have to share my sweet peas then, mind you we’ve got to wait a while for them!
      As for the tomatoes we’ll have to see. xx

  6. Ellie says:

    I was driven back into the greenhouse by the return of the rain too – a bitter disappointment after the glorious sun.

    Gardener’s Delight remains my favourite tomato, though I try others each year. I’ve lost a lot through damping off or the temperature fluctuations, so I hope yours are more successful. x

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie yesterday was nice, as was this morning although it’s raining now!
      It was the variety that topped the list of recommendations both for taste and growing. Thanks, I hope so too! xx

  7. Tina says:

    Sweet peas are so fab as cut flowers. And, oh my gosh, I’m soooo glad you decided to start coleus. I’ve never seen the extra dwarf varieties…please do document their progress as I’m very intrigued!

    • Flighty says:

      Tina they are indeed! Well what with your post about coleus, and being listed in the show schedule how could I resist! I’ll certainly do that. xx

Leave a Reply

