The happiness award

Last week lawn lounger Jo kindly gave the happiness award to this blog which I much appreciate!

The rules are to link to the blog that presented it, list ten things which make me happy and pass on the award.

I’m not going to list ten things as I’m sure that you’ll all well aware of what makes me happy!

I’m passing on this award on to the following as they make me happy!

Georgie’s Little London Garden is the sort of garden that I love. Scroll down to the bottom of the screen there and you’ll see a photo of it, along with  some details. I’m sure that spending time in it makes her happy,  as it would me!

N & M’s The Homely Year would be a favourite of mine just for the header photo, which as you can see shows buttered scones, strawberries and tea in bone china cups. It’s a most charming blog which has always made me happy!

Nikkipolani’s As it happens has always made me happy posting as she does about felines, flowers and food! My rosey friend lives in southern California  so her wonderful warm photos are especially welcome through the winter.

I would also have given this award to Isadora’s She, who knows nothing but sadly she passed away early last week.  She’d been a longtime friend over on my MrFlighty blog and her posts always conveyed her joy for life.  She underwent a successful major operation last September,  but towards the end of last year it was clear that all was not well and in January she was given the worst possible news.  She continued blogging throughout this time, including posts for friends only all about her illness, to just two weeks before she died.

I will remember Isadora with affection, and knowing that she loved gladioli I’m going to plant a small group of them on the plot in her memory.

Have a happy weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The happiness award

  1. menhir says:

    Now why did I know, before I saw, that you would be awarded the temptations of sugar-iced cup cakes. The trick now Mr F. is to try and grow some!

  2. Jo says:

    I’m pleased that you’ve accepted the award, Flighty. I always enjoy popping by your blog. I think these awards are a great way to discover new blogs so I will be checking out your links. I’m so sorry to hear the sad news about your blog pal, Isadora, and I think the gladioli patch is a fitting tribute.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I’m only to happy to accept it and thanks again for giving it to me. That’s nice to know. I think that you’re right and looking at friends links is always worthwhile. xx

  3. nikkipolani says:

    Congratulations, Flighty! I think your posts on your robin visitors alone would’ve garnered the award — they are so happy and cheerful!

  4. Ellie says:

    Congratulations on the award – you deserve it, as your posts are always so upbeat and positive. A gladioli patch in memory of Isadora is a lovely idea – she was a very special person and will be greatly missed in blogland. x

  5. Doris says:

    What an uplifting idea! Sorry though to hear of the loss of your friend Isadora. To plant flowers in her memory is very lovely.

  6. daffy says:

    Congrats!
    Give ‘us a cake then!
    So sorry to hear about Isadora… very sad.

  7. re says:

    Congratulations, a well deserved award

  8. Georgie says:

    Heck, I’ve never been given an award before, I don’t know what to say apart from thank you very much. And I’m afraid I have no idea how to link to your blog on mine or how to pass on the award. But I think I can list ten things which make me happy (only ten?) so here goes. In no particular order:

    My garden
    My family
    My friends
    My cat
    Manchester United
    Reading
    Modern art
    Watching wildlife
    Completing a crossword
    Fine dining

    G x

    • Flighty says:

      Georgie it’s well deserved and you’re most welcome!
      No worries about linking or passing it on as neither are obligatory.
      I like your list, and figure that you must be happy most of the time then! xx

  9. louise says:

    Congratulations on the award, your blog is a happy one. I am so sorry to hear about the loss of your dear blog friend Flighty. The Gladioli garden is a lovely way of reminding you of the good friendship you had. x

  10. Liz says:

    Flighty, you certainly deserve The Happiness Award for your positive attitude. The Homely Life photograph looks like what my tea table for garden club should aim to be! I did manage the scones, clotted cream, rhubarb jam, and finger sandwiches, but am not sure the presentation was as attractive as this!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz thanks, I’ve always appreciated such awards. That all sounds delicious, which is more important than presentation.
      You can see why I grow gladioli on the plot. xx

Leave a Reply

