Black earth and red breasts!

I’ve been happily plotting this week on Monday, Tuesday, yesterday and today thanks to the dry sunny weather,  although it has been breezy and cool at times.

Yesterday I stopped for a breather and when I turned round to grip the fork handle look who’d come to say hello!

Today I decided that I would dig out the compost binIt wasn’t long before I was joined by two delightful little friends who constantly distracted me whilst I was doing it!They were here, there and everywhere and I guess that the job took twice as long  as it should have done as I keep waiting whilst they helped themselves to lots of juicy morsels

The top foot or so hadn’t rotted down into crumbly black earth so that stayed in the bin to start it off again this year whilst the rest I barrowed over to the area where I’ll be planting my potatoes.

I’m glad that it’s a job I only have a do once a year but it’s one that I look forward to for the black earth and red breasts!

Today I learned  that  male robins have a U shaped brown forehead whilst females are V shaped.  You can  see the difference in the the pair above, and that the female is slightly smaller.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Black earth and red breasts!

  1. Jo says:

    Those robins are getting bold. It’s lovely to have company while you work. How nice to have a full week on the plot, something we haven’t been able to do for sometime now, spring must surely be nearly here.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo they really couldn’t get much bolder as they were just inches away at times even when I kept working!
      It’s been over three months since I was last able to do that. It certainly looks to be on the way! xx

  2. menhir says:

    I reckon the robins are related to the bright red-breasted one or two, that visit the peanuts and seeds in our garden. Probably, their distant cousins!

  3. Jenny says:

    I never knew that before, about their marking, Flighty. When I was out with Paddy this morning, there was a robin singing on a branch in the valley and he was so close that I could see down his throat as he sang.

  4. Doris says:

    I will never tire of seeing photos of these lovely birds! How privileged you are to have their delightful company as you work!
    That is very interesting about the difference in the forehead markings.

  5. -4.7 here last night Flighty, but bright and beautiful today. The chickens are making a dust bath in the flower bed, so spring must be nearly here!

  6. renaissance says:

    What delightful gardening companions you have. Useful tip on how to tell Mr Robin from Mrs Ive never really been able to tell the difference up until now, will practice my new found knowledge at the 1st opprtunity.

  7. Harry says:

    I was also lucky yesterday, on first decent day in the sunny garden to see one robin, blackbird and two blue tits all within a few minutes….great what turning over a bit of soil will do!

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Absolutely delightful, Flighty! Certainly worth a little extra delay as you do your garden chores.

  9. Matron says:

    Yes! a familiar scene for those of us who shovel compost! they get very bold this time of year and sometimes I am afraid I will spear one with my fork they get so close! I didn’t know about the markings on the forehead, i’ll look out for that.

    • Flighty says:

      Matron hello, and thanks for stopping by!
      I know the feeling and was cautiously looking out for them all the time I was digging the compost out. xx

  10. Carrie says:

    Oh my goodness I never knew that about robin’s foreheads! It’s so clear in your photos -Thank you!! xxx

  11. Fabulous says:

    What happy little friends you have. I spotted a few around Christmas but none since. I will ask my hubby if he has at the allotment. x

  12. Sue says:

    Maybe you’ll have little speckled baby robins next!

  13. Sue says:

    We had a young robin once stray into our greenhouse and it just let me pick it up and carry it out.

    Young birds just haven’t developed the sense to mistrust humans.

  14. Ellie says:

    I didn’t know about the markings either – I assumed females would be plain brown. It explains why we have two near our feeders and they don’t fight! One of them (don’t know if it is the male or female) has perfected the art of landing on the seed holder, but the other can’t balance!

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie it’s surprising that no-one, including me, seemed awhere of this!
      You’re lucky to see them on a feeder as they prefer to feed off the ground. xx

  15. Louise says:

    Hi Flighty. My robin is still giving me the runaround! I have bought him some mealworms. I can just imagine how your two were enjoying those juicy worms. Great red breast information. I have to bag up a heap of compost from my garden, as the neighbour’s cats are using it as a litter tray. Not nice at all! x

  16. Wonderful photos…you’ve managed to capture them both!
    Robins are such cheerful little birds…and bold too.
    Margaret and Noreen

    • Flighty says:

      M & N hello and thanks! I was lucky as most of the time they were just too far apart.
      They are indeed, which is why we find them so endearing. xx

  17. Liz says:

    How sweet and cheeky. The robins in the States pale in comparison to the British robin redbreast, which I always associate with Christmas cards and still enjoy receiving from my friends “back home” each year.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz they sure were, and the only time that I’ve had a pair accompany me like that. It’s not surprising that it’s a favourite bird here and features on so many Christmas cards. xx

Leave a Reply

