Me and the robins

Yesterday started off frosty but by mid morning the sun was shining so I spent a couple of hours plotting  for the first time this year.

As the ground is so wet I did some general tidying up beginning with pulling up the sweetcorn stems,  which you can see still standing over on the right

I then lightly forked the area over, and as I did  a robin joined me, or rather two robins did much to my surprise and delight!

Later when I was packing up to come home one of them was at my feet, then even hopped onto my boot for a moment!

I’d like to think that one of these two feathered friends is this one.

I nearly missed this first flowering crocus tucked away in the long grass, and it’ll soon be followed by more.

It felt good to be plotting again after nearly three months, and it was especially pleasing that it was me and the robins on the plot enjoying a glorious morning.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Me and the robins

  1. mrs K says:

    I woke up, had a cup of tea and toast, looked out the window, saw the hard frost, turned on the computer and bingo – a beautiful photo of Robins and best of all a Yellow Crocus. Spring.

    Thank you Flighty, I can start the day happy, I have a big grin on my face.

    • Flighty says:

      Mrs K it’s nice to start the day happy isn’t it! You can probably imagine the big grin on my face yesterday when it happened.
      Most of my crocus are white and purple ones as the sparrows eat all the yellow ones! xx

  2. alison says:

    omg! that is so cool! what a way to start the day! hopped onto your boot is just so fun! good robin. 😀

  3. Maureen says:

    Lovely photos of the robins! They are such attractive birds – always make me smile.

    And your garden is looking very tidy, indeed. Well done.

    • Flighty says:

      Maureen they’re the first adult ones that I’ve managed to photograph! I think that they have that effect on most of us.
      It’s not quite as tidy as it looks! Thanks! xx

  4. nikkipolani says:

    They know a nice plotter when they see him!

  5. Doris says:

    What a lovely little bird – so different from the American Robin that I am familiar with. I do hope it is the young one that you photographed and it has come back to show you its beautiful red breast.

    • Flighty says:

      Doris not surprisingly it’s the nation’s favourite, and most familiar, bird! I know that yours is bigger and not so red breasted.
      They’re the one bird that I always see, and hear, when I’m on the allotment. xx

  6. Carrie says:

    Oh don’t you just love robins!! We have a friendly little companion on our plot too. We had a great one at our last house who was fearless but alas he didn’t move with us. What a happy post to see someone is getting out and working on their plot. LOVE the crocus, just the bright sunshiney colour we need at the minute x

    • Flighty says:

      Carrie I do indeed! I think that a resident allotment robin is essential. I’m sure that once you get settled into your new home that you’ll soon befriend a new one.
      There’ll be lots more crocus, but mostly white and purple ones. xx

  7. Jo says:

    My daughter and I are currently reading The Secret Garden together. We’ve just got to the part where Ben Weatherstaff is talking to the robin, and then I find these delightful photos on your blog. I think robins have always been known as gardener’s companions. It’s also nice to see that you’ve got some colour on your plot. My allotment was buried under a pile of snow again yesterday.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo that’s a really delightful children’s book which I’m sure you’re both enjoying!
      They have indeed and there’s a wonderful poem ‘My Little Friend’ that perfectly illustrates that relationship. I’ve quoted it in posts a couple of times now including this one
      https://flightplot.wordpress.com/2008/10/09/today-is/
      I’m sorry to hear that your plot is snowbound again. Mine may be brown and green but way too soggy! xx

  8. Tina says:

    How awesome is that?
    They must have figured out what a nice guy you are to be so trusting. 🙂

  9. daffy says:

    That is one cute and fat little robin! Very cute and a great shot too Flighty!
    have you had any snow today or are you going to be lucky enough to be missed? (I’m praying hard!)
    xx

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy they were both very cute looking little fluffballs! Yes indeed and thanks.
      It’s been cold, dull and raining/sleeting here today but no snow thankfully. xx

  10. Lynda says:

    Beautiful photos ;0)

  11. Hayley says:

    Hi Flighty – thanks for your comment on my blog. Mine is a mere sapling compared to yours! Very established and very good too. I like this story about the robin hopping on your boot. I briefly ventured into my garden today to sow the garlic after all, and saw many a crocus in full flower. This pleased me immensely. I even brought a pot with a few back inside with me!

    • Flighty says:

      Hayley hello! You’re welcome and thanks for your kind words.
      I was on the plot yesterday and my white crocus are out which were lovely to see! It looks like we’re all a bit happier this week thanks to this better weather. xx

  12. Louise says:

    Flighty, you are so lucky. I would love a robin at my feet, let alone on my boot! The robin in my garden is so nervous. I only have to pick up my camera and he/she flits! x

Leave a Reply

