Sunny and soggy

Yesterday morning it was sunny, and not too cold,  so I went for a leisurely stroll round the allotments.

On the plot there now plenty of signs that spring is definitely on the way including daffodils that have started appearing.

It looks like the UK is set for a  spectacular spring following what has been a long, cold winter.

I’ll be glad when I can do some plotting again, although the ground is far too soggy to do much apart from tidying up. Mind you I’ll be grateful to do even that as some of the other plots are under water in places as you can see with these apparently floating cabbages!

Since mid December there have been referrers just about every day to here from  Birds & Blooms Community from this post where in the second comment by Petalpushers TN she linked to Plot plants ~ Poached-egg flower.

Ron, the Horticultural Society’s Secretary, gave me two gardening calendars last Sunday. One is  a small Which? Gardening one which I’ve hung in the plot shed where it’ll be handy for making notes if need be. The other one, which I’ve got here at home,  is the somewhat different Seasonal Availability Calendar Eating in Harmony with the Seasons.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sunny and soggy

  1. Louise says:

    Yes, today is wet! I hope to be able to do a little tidying during the day, inbetween showers. I can just imagine how generous fellow allotmenteers can be. No-one likes soggy greens! x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise it really has been a miserable day hasn’t it, I would be surprised if you did any tidying up outside!
      Yes they are indeed, some Sunday mornings it’s a real bring and give!
      No, not even the woodpigeons by the look of it. xx

  2. Jo says:

    Just look at those cabbages, what a sad sight. It’s still too claggy on my allotment to get any digging done, it’s making me wonder if we’re going to get a very late spring the way things are going. The seasonal availability calendar looks interesting, especially with the information it provides.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it annoys me somewhat that people grow stuff then leave it like this. It’s been raining here again all day so the allotments will be even worse now! I don’t mind a late spring providing that it’s a good one.
      Yes it is, and has nine pages of information as well as a calendar page for each month. xx

  3. nikkipolani says:

    Well, we’ve been warned that the warm spell is over and it’s back to “winter” for us — slightly cooler temps, overcast skies, maybe a shower or two. I know, we’re wimps.

    I like the sound of your second calendar — perfect for your plans to grow and eat more vegetables! And with all the sogginess, maybe some watercress should be considered!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki even I’m now totally fed up with the long, cold wet winter that we’ve had here! I think that in your shoes I’d be a wimp too!
      Yes it’s a good one, each month shows a list of produce in season and it also has some wonderful drawings.
      At moment watercress would be the only thing worth growing! xx

  4. Harry says:

    Love the cabbage picture….I can just imagine some little rodent jumping from one to the other to keep out of the cold water!

  5. Sue says:

    I thought our soil was wet enough but at least our cabbages don’t look like water lilies

Leave a Reply

