The hydrangea

Following the lovely display of flowers on  the hydrangea during last summer and autumn I moved the pot to a more sheltered spot next to the shed for the winter.  I left the flowers and leaves to turn brown but didn’t prune them as my mum always left hers then did it in the spring once new growth had appeared.

I was having a potter round  on Saturday and when I moved aside the flower heads was pleased to see this

I shall prune and feed it once the weather warms up a bit so that, hopefully, come the summer it will give another fine display like this

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The hydrangea

  1. Jo says:

    I made the mistake of pruning mine when the flowers had died and I ended up with a very poor display the following year, so you’ve done the right thing. Your’s is a very vivid pink.

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Well worth the TLC you give it, Flighty. Such a nice clear pink.

  3. louise says:

    Hydrangeas certainly give good value for money. I must say I have taken the spent blooms off mine at different times in the season, and the plant gives as many flowers either way. x

  4. Doris says:

    What a lovely close-up picture! I could almost reach out and touch those beautiful blossoms.

  5. Carrie says:

    Oh fab!! What a lovely sight to behold. I noticed new growth on our rhuburb and it made me giggle.
    Your picture is gorgeous, I look forward to more vivid pink later in the year xxx

  6. that is so exciting to see the first peeks of green!!

  7. glo says:

    Isn’t it exciting to discover those new shoots? It’s like finding treasure! I must check out my hydrangeas and see if I can find the promise of new blooms. Hydrangeas are special ~ Yours is a beautiful pink!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo yes it certainly is, and I hope that you find new growth on yours as well!
      They are one of my favourites regardless of colour, although I do like the white ones best. xx

Leave a Reply

