Far, near and closer still

Starting tonight on BBC2 at 8.oopm is  Simon King’s Shetland Diaries which is a new three part series in which he, along with his wife and daughter, experience life on the Shetland Isles for a year.

Next Wednesday’s Natural World The Wild Places of Essex is on BBC2 at 8.00pm. Writer Robert Macfarlane spent a year exploring Essex’s elemental landscapes of heavy industry, desolate beaches and wild beaches.

A Local Patch were the last two episodes of the BBC Radio 4 programme Nature which I enjoyed listening to.  Yesterday on my local patch I saw two robins feeding on the bird food that I’d scattered. Since they are aggressive and fiercely territorial I would say that this is a pair.  I have only rarely seen more than one at any one time so I’m delighted to have seen these!  In a good year, with an early spring and a long summer, robins can rear up to four broods.  Let’s hope that seeing these two is a sign of a good year to come for them and us!

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Far, near and closer still

  1. daffy says:

    Aw, love Robins, I saw three the other day but there was a bit of an argument going on!
    I think tv is so poor nowadays… such a shame that they can’t even it out a bit. It seems that if you don’t like reality or Vampires you don’t get to watch anything! hehe
    Is Simon Kings programme repeated do you know? I like him but I’m out tonight. :o)
    Take care
    xxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy me too, and I always feel that my day is incomplete if I don’t see, and hear, a robin! I’m not surprised as three is definitely one too many.
      I agree which is why I watch so little nowadays.
      It doesn’t look like it but I’m sure that it’ll get shown again sometime soon.
      I will, and you too! xx

  2. nikkipolani says:

    How nice that you saw Mr. and Mrs. Robin 🙂 I’ve been watching episodes of the new Emma on the pbs.org site and looking forward to the next one.

  3. alison says:

    i’ll send lots of love to mr. and mrs. robin and all robins, may more robins come visit you flighty 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Alison thanks! I see plenty of robins out and about, but as they fiercely defend their own territory it’s unlikely that I’ll see any others out back. xx

  4. nikkipolani says:

    Thanks, Flighty, for that link over to V&V on stopping to smell roses. I’ve been reading books, listening to audiobooks, working, doing projects, cooking… basically running around with every minute filled. It was nice to slow down a bit Wednesday and breathe.

  5. menhir says:

    We shall have to wait longer for real signs of Spring. It rained tonight. It does not tell us that our long Winter is closing. Anything but, if one is to listen to the weather ‘soothsayers’. Some protected pots are showing shoots, the open ground is still bare.

Leave a Reply

