Watching the birdies!

This morning was sunny but frosty so I decided to wait for the sun to shine on the grass and trees out back before scattering the bird food around in preparation for doing the RSPB’s Big Garden Birdwatch.

I’d even cleaned the back room windows and borrowed a pair of compact binoculars so all I needed was pen, paper, a cup of tea and a few digestives.

The regulars were all quick off the mark with the woodpigeons, blackbirds and robin all appearing almost as soon as I’d gone indoors.Β  I usually tap on the window to scare off the woodpigeons when they get too numerous but I didn’t do that today and saw more than ever!

A couple of impressive looking magpies strutted around, followed by two even larger, inky-black carrion crows. Then the starlings landed to work their way across the grass in close formation.

Up in the tree tops I spotted a handful of blue tits, and then on the service road was the tail bobbing grey wagtail. I’m pleased that the latter continues to visit since the snow has gone as it’s mostly seen by, or very near, water.

That was it I thought as I couldn’t count the half a dozen ring-necked parakeets that nosily overflew.

IΒ  then noticed something on one of the tree trunks which when I lookedΒ  could hardly believe my luck as it was a great-spotted woodpecker! This is a bird that I often hear, with it’s strident tchack tchack call echoing through the trees, but rarely ever catch a glimpse of.

That’s it they’ve all gone leaving me to have some toast and a second cup of tea whilst reflecting on the hour I’d just spent enjoying watching the birdies!

So I ended up seeing lots more than I expected with blackbird 2, blue tit 5, carrion crow 2, great-spotted woodpecker 1, grey wagtail 1, magpie 2, robin 1, starling 8 and woodpigeon 12.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Watching the birdies!

  1. alison says:

    wow! so many! there’re 2 little birds that come to feed at my bird of paradise flowers everyday, i dont know their names though πŸ™‚

  2. Tina says:

    Holy cow! I’m so glad that so many made an appearance for you, Flighty.

  3. nikkipolani says:

    What fun! Lots to keep an eye on — amazing that they seem to get along and not get too competitive. And good eye on that great spotted woodpecker!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it was indeed! I was delighted with all the activity, mind you I had scattered more food than usual around.
      There’s nearly always some squabbling, and feathers do get ruffled now and again!
      Two of the squirrels were also about and I initially thought that the woodpecker was one of them! xx

  4. Doris Potter says:

    I am envious that you can see so many birds so close to home and in such abundance! Their names are exotic to me (here in Canada) especially ring-necked parakeets!
    If you care to, you can see some of my bird photos at http://www.pbase.com/dorispotter/birds
    Sounds like we are kindred spirits regarding birds.

  5. daffy says:

    *waves at Doris*
    Hi Flighty – I’m doing mine today… we have filled the tree with all the birdy favourites an my husband and I will take up residence in our ‘hide’. Ok, it’s the conservatory but they don’t seem to mind us. I’m glad you saw the woodpecker… I sent him over to see you. :o)
    My hubby is a little worried we only have one pencil between the two of us so I’d better find another!

    Oh! Scruff gets clipped today so with a bit of luck we’ll see loads of birds and a new (sort of) dog!

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy hello, I hope that you enjoyed your bird watching!
      Thanks for sending the woodpecker in this direction, and I hope that I see it again.
      It sounds like you’ve all had a busy, and I trust, good weekend! xx

  6. Jennyta says:

    Far more than I saw, Flighty, but then we were struggling with the weather a bit here. πŸ˜‰

    • Flighty says:

      Jenny I was surprised at how many I saw, although I guess that the sunshine and more food than usual helped! Sorry to see that the weather is like it is there. Roll on spring! xx

  7. daffy says:

    We’ve had a disappointing day too, like Jenny. Weather is cold and snowy and not very inviting.

  8. Doris says:

    Hi again. Thanks for the link to the article on the parakeets. Very interesting. Just a small synchronicity to report: I noticed the acronym RSPB in your post and today I was at a card store looking for a thank-you card and one in particular caught my eye. It was an artist’s representation of a Blue Tit and had “RSPB” on a sticker affixed to its plastic sleeve. Needless to say I bought it!

  9. Ellie says:

    That’s a great ‘haul’ – particularly the woodpecker. ‘My’ woodpecker chose to visit my garden on Monday, as did the long-tailed tits!

  10. menhir says:

    It’s been a very long Winter. We had more snowfalls tonight, not a lot, but a good covering. There may be more by morning. The weather people gave out stats tonight, telling us what we already knew, long,very cold winter, coldest since 1962/3 and there’s more to come.

    Enjoy birdspotting. We’re feeding plenty here. I think the fat balls are freezing up, so are not of much use. The peanuts are popular, as is the seed container.

    xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir it has indeed! It’s been the coldest winter here for 30 years, and one of the wettest February’s.
      So do I, and I continue to scatter food out the back every morning then have a cup of tea watching them. Porridge oats are a really good food for them. xx

Leave a Reply

