Big Garden Birdwatch

Just a flying visit this morning to remind everyone here in the UK that this weekend it’s the RSPB’s  Big Garden Birdwatch.

This year I’ll be doing it from home looking out back  after I’ve scattered some bird food around first thing. I’ll be hoping that as well as the regulars – the robin, the pair of blackbirds, some starlings  and always too many wood pigeons – that I’ll also see  some blue tits and the grey wagtail.

If I lived in Royal Tunbridge Wells then I would go into the town centre to see this  wonderful sight, and counting them would be fun wouldn’t it!

Happy birdwatching,  and have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Big Garden Birdwatch

  1. Ellie says:

    Oh, wouldn’t that be a fantastic sight to see in your garden on Bird Watch day (or any day!). Though the recording sheet would need a bit of amendment! Happy Bird Watch yourself. x

  2. Jennyta says:

    Missed it last year but I hope to be able to do it again this year.

  3. cafecortado says:

    We don’t have a garden, just a bit of shared grass that our flat overlooks. I did try putting out some bread for the birds over the latest cold spell, but they ignored it totally. I think they’ve gotten too used to cake! Tunbridge Wells? Never been there, and suspect I never will. Hope I’m not missing anything..

    • Flighty says:

      Cafecortado I’m the same as you! They probably had alternative, and for them more tasty, food sources.
      I don’t recollect ever having been there either! I shouldn’t think so…

  4. nikkipolani says:

    With a busy schedule ahead, I think I will have to do my birdwatching at the computer 😦 but there are several bloggers who excell at showing off their bird pics, so I’m looking forward to it. Enjoy looking for birds in your neck o’ the woods — and post any pictures if the birds cooperate!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki that’s fair enough so you can share my birdwatch! It should be interesting to see what we all count when we do it.
      Thanks, but I think that any photos will have to wait for warmer weather!

  5. daffy says:

    Can’t wait. I’m all ready for it. It’s just me and my old man… (Husband not Dad!) as the kids have too hectic a social life to sit with the ‘rents and birdwatch!
    Oh yeah! Flying visit hehe very good! I got my spanking new specs today! I’m bound to see more birds!

Leave a Reply

