First signs

Thankfully the weather has been much better over the weekend, being dry and slightly warmer.

Yesterday morning whilst out back scattering bird food I noticed something white almost hidden in the longer grass. When I looked more closely I found it was these snowdrops

They’re among the first bulbs to flower and over the next month or so you can see them at many British gardens.

This morning I had a quick look at the plot and was pleased to see that the crocus and mini daffodils in the long planter are starting to appearThe wire mesh that you can see under the wood chippings is to keep the foxes and squirrels from digging the bulbs up and seems to have worked.

Seeing these, and watching four squirrels scampering about this morning, certainly gives the impression of the first signs of spring.

Last September I mentioned in this post that I’d bought some hyacinths, hopefully to flower at Christmas.   I was also given a couple of the variety Fondant. I’d almost given up on them as apart from growing a couple of inches they seemed to be doing nothing! However at long last one at least is starting to flower and the others beginning to open up.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to First signs

  1. Jennyta says:

    Oh lovely! I can’t wait for Spring. Only two months before British Summer Time is back. 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Jenny thanks! Make that you, me and everyone else I reckon!
      It’s also noticably lighter later, especially when there’s clear skies, which helps. xx

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Oh oh oh! Wonderful new signs of life. Those snowdrops are darling. Sorry Mr. Fox, these bulbs are for admiring, not devouring!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki there are signs of new growth just starting on the roses as well!
      They are but it’s a pity that they’re almost down at ground level with flowers facing downwards.
      It’s more likely to have been the squirrels had they had the chance! xx

  3. menhir says:

    It is lovely to see snowdrops, crocuses and daffs pop out of the ground, it really does suggest Spring is just around the corner, where you are at any rate. I am still keeping a weather eye out for the first signs of snowdrops where I live.

    xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir it certainly is but I think that there may well be a few hiccups before Spring does arrive. I suppose that after a long hard winter we’ll appreciate it all the more! xx

  4. Tina says:

    Oh, my goodness!
    Fab! Thanks for the quick peek. . . and for growing the flicker of hope that spring really IS on the way – and to over here, eventually.
    🙂

  5. daffy says:

    Your snowdrop pic is a real tonic! Glimmer of hope! ;o)

  6. Glo says:

    How lovely to see snowdrops! I cleared away the leaves to see if I could find any in the front garden, and just the tips of something green are poking up. I’ll be watching for them. I’ll also have to watch for signs of hyacinths because last year they were eaten by deer. Thanks for bringing some spring into this wet grey day!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I also saw some snowdrops whilst out and about earlier in the week.
      Typically it looks like remaining wintry here for a while longer. You’re welcome! xx

  7. Carrie says:

    Thank you thankyou thankyou Flighty – signs of Spring are much welcomed to my little winter damaged soul xxxx

  8. Ellie says:

    Ooh lovely – they are more advanced than the ones I saw this morning. My hyancinth bulbs have been and gone though – the smell was incredible – I wish they were around all year! x

  9. Carrie says:

    Oh Flighty I wish you lived next door – you always bring cheer to my heart xx

  10. oanh says:

    Oh! Lucky you! I haven’t seen any snowdrops, yet, despite a long ride last weekend and only one bulb poking out of my front yard …

  11. Liz says:

    Snowdrops. Harbingers of spring. I’ll have to check near my kousa dogwood tree to see if there are signs of them here, although they don’t usually appear here before February.

Leave a Reply

