I love Beetroot!

Beetroot is one of the vegetables that I’ve grown since I’ve had the plot, and this year I’m growing several varieties.

There’s the popular red one Cylindra which as the name implies is cylindrical rather than globe shaped.  I grew these last year and was pleased with them.

Nikki put me on to golden beets and both she and Beginninghere like them as you can see here. I grow some last year and must say that I really do like the taste of them.  This year I’m growing Burpee’s Golden and Detroit Yellow. Despite somewhat erratic germination  and their small size I think that they are well worth growing.

I’m also trying the white variety Albina Ice about which I know little, or know of anyone who’s grown them, so it’ll be interesting to see how they grow and  what they taste like!

As well as sending me the Detroit Yellow mentioned above Nikki and Beginninghere also sent me a packet of  Gourmet Blend which include the varieties Bull’s Blood, which have deep red tops and candy striped roots, and Chioggia, which have rings of bright pink and white

I’ll be sowing my beetroot seeds from April through to August, and hopefully harvesting the beets from June to the autumn. I’m happy with ones that are small, little more than golf ball sized,  as they not only cook quicker but really do taste much better.

I suppose that I have to own up and say I love Beetroot!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to I love Beetroot!

  1. Jennyta says:

    And very good for you it is too, Flighty. Hope they all turn out well. 🙂

  2. re says:

    Awfully fond of beetroot myself, have you tried it mixed with horseradish as a sauce ? it’s quite delicious.

  3. Ellie says:

    I’m a late convert to beetroot – I was put off by the vinegar-soaked versions of my youth. But the OH loves it, so last year I grew Chioggia, which is very pretty, and this year I’m trying Boltardy (and perhaps Burpee’s Golden if I have room). I’ve just read you can use the young leaves in a salad. Here’s to beetroot success in 2010!

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie I’m just the same and was really surprised at how good it tastes without vinegar.
      Boltardy is the popular variety which is not surprising. Like you I’m going to try the leaves as well this year. Yes indeed! xx

  4. nikkipolani says:

    Hurrah for beetroot! Those chiogga varieties are gorgeous, aren’t they? My local grocery store is carrying the goldens more often and it certainly makes me happy (while I plot and plan how to grow my own from the seeds you’ve sent!). Here’s to a great crop for you in 2010!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki well said! They certainly look it and I’m looking forward to growing them. Lucky you as I’ve never seen them in the stores here.
      Thanks, and here’s to us all growing some great beets! xx

  5. Carrie says:

    I stand beside you and shout I love beetroot too!
    We’re going to be exciting this year too and grow different colours. I adore them small too and boiled with brown sauce, yum!!!

  6. daffy says:

    My dad likes beetroot. 😮

  7. Flighty… you’re a beet god! As a newbie to the joys of beets, I’m excited to add them to my garden this year.

  8. Glo says:

    Your post is hard to ‘beet’, Flighty~ 😉
    Very colourful and pretty as well as good for you. I may have to plant some seeds just so I can be in this club!

  9. menhir says:

    Much as I adore fresh beetroot, pickled varieties are not my first choice or my second, I have found that the rooted little beast, can have benefits- a-plenty and some that are not quite so useful.

    Eat too much beetroot, (the quantities that suit, will vary from person to person) and you will pee red. Knowing this little gem, means there should be no need to concern yourself, in the usual run of things, with the outcome.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir like you it’s fresh beetroot that I like.
      I did know but it must be rather disconcerting for anyone who has that happen to them and doesn’t know why! xx

  10. Harry says:

    I can still remember, as a child, going past the grocer’s shop, and smelling the still-warm boiled beetroot outside on display…wonderful!

Leave a Reply

