Watching TV and birds

One of the few TV programmes that I miss is Gardeners’ World. I felt that  last year’s series lost it’s way so I stopped watching it after a couple of shows.

I wasn’t the only one as viewing figures dropped and there were complaints galore.  Thankfully the producers have recognised that they got it wrong and the new series, which starts in March and runs through to October, is going back to grown-up gardening. The show has to be informative, interesting and appeal to all gardeners.  Let’s hope that the new half-hourly programmes do that!

For those of you who like Monty Don he’s back on TV next week with a new series My Dream Farm which is on Channel4 starting next Thursday at 8.00pm.

Coming soon on BBc2 is Alys Fowler’s new series The Edible Garden – a home grown life. I’ll mention this again once I know when it’s being shown.

Among the regular birds that I’ve been seeing from  my back doorstep over the past week have been a couple of  grey wagtails and a mistle thrush. The tits, mostly blue tits, mostly stay up in the trees flitting about. Being small they’re difficult to see but I’m sure that one day I saw a coal tit. I really must clean the windows and find my binoculars!

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Watching TV and birds

  1. Tina says:

    I posted about Gardeners’ World going back to the old format the other day – bout time, eh? I sure as heck wish we had some decent programming over on this side of the pond.

    • Flighty says:

      Tina hello! I saw your post, and yes I hope that they get it right this year.
      It’s surprising that you’ve no good gardening programmes over there! Take care. xx

  2. Maureen says:

    I lost interest in watching Gardeners’ World too, Flighty. Thank goodness they paid attention to complaints and viewing figures. I’m sure the new series will be so much better.

    I’ve always liked Monty Don so I’m pleased to hear he will be back with a new series. Thanks for the info!

    I’ve been noticing a lot of different birds in the garden lately too. They are all very hungry because of the cold, snowy weather and thus fighting over the food in the feeders and on the bird table.

  3. re says:

    I liked Gardeners World back in the Geoff Hamilton days, I did just about get used to Alan T but started to lose interest during Monty Don’s time.
    Having said that I will check out MD’s new show, I do like his writing.

    • Flighty says:

      Re I know that many people have favourite presenters but it was the format of the last series that really grated!
      I do too, and it’s often overlooked that he’s such a good writer. xx

  4. daffy says:

    I only watch Gardeners World when I’m need of a snooze. (tee-hee) Well, we can’t all be fabulous gardening people! :o)
    I’ve had loads of different birds than what I usually get… I think the food shortage brings them from far and wide. I have a regular wren and a regular pair of siskins! along with my tits, blackbirds, jays, etc.
    I’m not watching tv at the moment… I’ve been reading again and I’m just about to start a rather popular Billie Letts book called Where the Heart is… It has started well!
    You stay warm … I think that the snow is easing but we have thick icy fog here! brrrrrr
    xx

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy that’s true but we’re all fabulous lawn loungers!
      Seeing unusual birds has been one advantage of the recent weather. You’re right about the food shortage see the link above!
      Good for you, I hope that you enjoy it.
      It’s milder here but being damp it still feels chilly. Icy fog is really nasty so take care when driving in it! xx

  5. VP says:

    I think the article in next week’s Radio Times re GW is very telling (in summary – we got it very wrong) and follows on from one just a few weeks ago where the programme was vigorously defended!

    There’s another programme on tomorrow at 5pm called Ration Book Britain you might be interested in if you’ve got Freeview or Satellite. I’ve just put a post up about it.

    I’m still putting my post together about GW!!!

    Have a good weekend
    xx

    • Flighty says:

      VP telling indeed, let’s hope that the new series puts the programme back to how it should be!
      I saw that listed but I won’t be able to watch it.
      I look forward to seeing your GW post!
      Thanks, and you too. xx

  6. nikkipolani says:

    It’s good when producers realize they are losing their audience! Glad they responded and are paying attention. Happy watching, Flighty 🙂

  7. Carrie says:

    Ah, a twitcher! I used to be quite good at identifying birds but i’m hopeless now, unless it’s a robin or pheasant etc. I was hoping that you were watching tv and going to tell me about your new lovely lady friends (birds), oh scandal!! x

    • Flighty says:

      Carrie not really! I’m quite good but often refer to my bird book for confirmation.
      You’ll have to keep on hoping I’m sorry to say!
      Take care. xx

  8. Glo says:

    I’m glad to see that Gardener’s World will be worth waiting for 🙂 Also happy to know that your little feathered friends are still providing enjoyment for you at the front and back windows ~ very appreciative, I’m sure, of your offerings of bird nourishment 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I certainly hope as I’ll be really disappointed if if it’s not!
      It’s all now part of my daily routine, they get breakfast first then I make mine and watch them. xx

Leave a Reply

