Shed duty

I was officially back on shed duty at the  Newton Park Horticultural Society trading shed this morning with my last stint being on 22nd November, although  it’s actually rather academic as I’m there every week anyway!

The shed has been closed the past two weeks following the Christmas party held on 20th December. That got off to a slow start, probably due to it being a cold snowy morning,  but eventually it got quite crowded with folks enjoying the food, drink and chat.  There was a raffle,  in which I didn’t win anything,  and even Santa put in an appearance!

I was back there the next day, along with a few others, just for an hour or so helping with the  stocktake.   I was also there last Wednesday to help off load, and sort out, the onion sets and seed potatoes ready for sale today.

Last year it was like the January sales but this morning was a lot quieter, not surprising in view of the still bitterly cold and  snowy weather!

As last year I’ve bought  Sturon and Turbo onions which,  as you know,  I was well pleased with.

Likewise with the potatoes I’ve bought Swift first earlies,  Kestrel second earlies and Desiree maincrop.  I also got some Charlotte salad potatoes which I’ve not grown before.

Although I’m only officially on shed duty every five weeks I’m only to happy to be there, and help out,  every week  or rather I will be when it warms up a bit!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Shed duty

  1. cafecortado says:

    Wow – Good to see someone’s busy! 😉 Hope the weather gets better for you, in fact has run out for me (if ever there was any). We just have to remind ourselves of the saying – If winter comes, can Spring be far behind? A belated Happy New Year to you too!

    • Flighty says:

      Cafecortado more like just ticking over with the weather being like it is!
      I’m sure hope that the weather changes for the better soon.
      Thanks, and to you too!

  2. Glo says:

    Sounds like you are enjoying being back in the midst of allotment life especially now that the shed is open again. You’re well on your way to some tasty potatoes and onions with plot planting well into the planning stage. And then of course, will come the recipes 😉

    • Flighty says:

      Glo it seems that I wasn’t the only one who missed the shed not being open for a couple of weeks!
      As well as buying both onion sets and seed potatotoes I had the last of each for dinner as well, which seems kind of appropriate.
      Ah yes the receipes, well I’m still deliberating on what cook book to buy! xx

  3. VP says:

    Well done on sticking with it even when the weather’s cold Flighty!

    I’m a fan of Sturon too, but haven’t tried Turbo.

    • Flighty says:

      VP thanks! In fact the shed was nice and warm as a kind soul has turned all the heaters on an hour before we opened.
      Sturon is very popular, and part from Turbo being a flatter shape I really couldn’t say that there’s any other difference. xx

  4. Carrie says:

    Flighty! You are a hardy one. Love the fact that there are other aspects to your allotmenteering. A trading shed would be a real dream for me on our plots. How wonderful to be buying up new seeds of a new year – my best wishes xxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Carrie maybe but certainly not foolhardy! Thanks, at this time of year when plotting’s not possible they help pass the time.
      As well as the social aspect the trading shed is a real bonus.
      Take care! xx

  5. mrs K says:

    Ah Charlotte salad potatoes – you reminded me of summer.

    White stuff doing a disappearing act at present, wonder how long that will last.

  6. daffy says:

    I like your early preparation! I hope the ground softens soon so you can get stuff planted! 😮
    My white stuff is going somewhere with Mrs K’s I think… I don’t want to say too much and jinx it but it’s damp, gloomy, grey and not snowing here (yet)! xx

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy thanks, so do I! There’s plenty of time as I won’t start planting and sowing until late February or early March.
      Thankfully it’s melting away here, and it’s like that here today! xx

  7. Ellie says:

    I miss the trading shed we had on our first allotment – you could always get good advice, as well as a laugh and company, so you’re lucky (and it’s lucky to have you and other volunteers who run it). I grew Swift last year, and liked them. Reminds me I’d better buy some more – when the weather improves!

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie I’m not surprised as they are such a good idea, I really enjoy being involved with mine!
      I was pleased the Swift potatoes, let’s hope that they do as well for us both this year. xx

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Shed duty sounds quite pleasant, actually. And it’s nice that the duties can be shared so everyone gets the experience but not get tired of it. Though with all that freezing cold you’re having, plot visits are probably sparse.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki we all enjoy it what with the chat, a cup of tea and a biscuit or two. We even do a bit of work sometimes!
      You’re right, and there’s nothing that can be done whilst it’s like this.

Leave a Reply

