It’s just the weather…

for sofa flying with a good book, a cup of tea and a couple of biscuits!

Nowadays I’m thankful that when the weather is like it is I can mostly stay indoors. That’s not to say that I don’t venture out as  I endeavour to do so at least every other day even if it’s just for a short walk.

I had to go to the horticultural society shed yesterday morning for an hour or so and on the way back I took this photo of a very bleak looking allotment siteMy sentry box shed can be seen right in the centre of the picture.  It was snowing heavily so I decided not to walk home through the site and ecology park!

I’ve also being going out back first thing every day to scatter food around for my feathered and furry friends.  This was the scene yesterday morning!

I was well chuffed on Tuesday morning as I spotted a grey heron standing on a nearby garage roof, but it quickly flew off when several crows started mobbing it. Amazingly I saw one again yesterday flying low across a leaden sky and another fleeting glimpse this morning!

The RSPB issued this timely reminder earlier in the week about how important it is to ensure that we feed our  garden birds at the moment.

Posts  including Daffy’sDisgruntled’sIrishpisky’sNiC’s and  Veg Plotting’s that I’ve been seen over the past week have mentioned, and shown, aspects of this wintry weather but I smiled when I read this one of  Nikki’s as she writes about it being warm and sunny!  If you’re confused by that then I should point out that she lives in southern California. I’m sure that some of us, including me, do rather wish that we were there at present!

Stay warm,  and have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn loungers. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to It’s just the weather…

  1. Carrie says:

    I am evil….no food for the birds at all *shame*. It is so cold Flighty!! and I have the cold too. Tomorrow I am bridesmaid in a sleeve-less short dress, think of me fondly……

    • Flighty says:

      Carrie I’m sure that you’re not really! Let’s just say that you’re a bit naughty having no food for them. I’ll let off though as I guess that you’ve been somewhat distracted by tomorrow. Have a good day, just wear a fur coat over the dress and you’ll be okay! xx

  2. VP says:

    Happy New Year Flighty!

    I’m itching to go outside today and play in the snow and sunshine but I still have a bad cold 😦

    I’ll go and find some therapeutic sunshine over at Nikki’s instead 🙂
    xx

    • Flighty says:

      VP thanks, and to you too!
      I’m sorry to see that you’ve got a bad cold, take care and get well soon.
      Good idea as her blog is always full of sunshine! xx

  3. midwifemuse says:

    I’m in accord with you on most things but an admiration for herons – no. They eat my goldfish and when the frogs are spawning they even take those as well, plus they look prehistoric. The crows are my friends where herons are concerned!
    Hope you have a warm weekend.

    • Flighty says:

      Midwifemuse whilst I like to see them I do appreciate that many people don’t. I’m guessing that its usual pond at the nearby ecology park has frozen hence its visits to nearby back gardens. The crows certainly don’t like it either do they!
      Thanks, you too! xx

  4. Ellie says:

    A timely reminder indeed about feeding the birds. I was most amused to see the hundreds of bird footprints around the feeding station this morning, and the antics of a thrush and a robin competing for crumble under the hedge have kept me from working on a tax return!

    Beautiful scenes indeed but it is best to stay warm and dry. x

  5. Glo says:

    It’s time to get out there and make a snow frog, Flighty! Your snow reminds me of last year’s winter around here. Yes, sunny California seems to be the place to be…and I’m retired and I have a current passport…what am I waiting for? Good question!

    Are you wearing your bed socks at night yet, Flighty? I think I already asked that question previously, but didn’t see an answer!

    I have stocked up on bird food supplies – suet seed squares, and bell shaped bird seed things, and I have a big bag of oatmeal and bird seed. We don’t have the snow, so there’s probably plenty of seeds etc. around, but hopefully these will help as well.

    You sound nice and cosy with your books, tea, and biscuits…next best thing to sunshine.

  6. nikkipolani says:

    I’m afraid even the hope of a wet January is evaporating. We So Cal residents were looking forward to previous predictions of El Nino conditions bringing much needed rain. But now it looks like we only have one season — summer!

    I’ll just have to pretend it’s cold and snowy and settle in for a cup of tea.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki that’s a shame as I know how much you wanted for rain for the garden! I’m sure sure that I’d like just summer, especially if it was too hot!
      That is by far the best way as the temperatures even here in London have only risen to around zero which is unusual! xx

  7. Glo says:

    My apologies for not noticing the first reply re bed socks, and thanks for the link to it. I’m glad to know your toes are not poking out of the end of the bed. I don’t know why that particular imaginary scene makes me laugh so much, but tears actually come into my eyes! LOL There I go again!

    It’s dull and wet around here and the promised sun did not materialize! Perhaps next week 🙂

    Anyway, if the snow isn’t snow-frog friendly, (too soft and fluffy), you could always take a little bucket of water with you to get it to the right consistency. I think more grown-ups should make such things and bring out their childhood memories. Looking forward to seeing it 🙂

    Nic’s link to snow covered Britain from the air was amazing wasn’t it? You are for all intents and purposes, covered in a white blanket!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo that’s okay, and I’m even warming them before I go to bed at the moment!
      The forecast here shows little change with temperatures staying around zero.
      It was far too cold to try this morning as there was a bitterly cold wind. I agree with that as I’m still very much a child at heart!
      Yes that image is amazing, and we are indeed! xx

  8. daffy says:

    It has certainly provided blogging material this weather of ours, as you said before!
    I’m still feeding my animal friends too. The blackbirds are so funny, they seem to take it upon themselves to act a ‘nut guards’ Any unsavoury visitors get chased off! We have been putting bacon fat out, nuts and carrots… (for the rabbits!)
    I notice you still have some pretty ‘orrible weather so stay warm!

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy it sure has! Good for you, and it’s so worthwhile isn’t it. My blackbird is just the same!
      It’s better today, milder and thankfully the snow is melting away. xx

Leave a Reply

