Happy New Year!

I always treat myself to a non-fiction book for Christmas and this year it was Allotment and Garden Guide by Twigs Way.  Subtitled  A monthly guide to better wartime gardening it’s proving to be an enjoyable, and fascinating, read.

I was given some book tokens which I’ll be using to buy a non-fiction book with. I used to buy aviation books but, not surprisingly, in the past few years they’ve been  about gardening. However this year I think that I ought to try and find a useful cookery book!

I’m not much of a foodie so my cooking is pretty basic and simple. I’m not interested in any of the so-called celebrity chefs books but Nigel Slater’s book The Kitchen Diaries has been recommended to me as it contains over 300 straightforward receipes.  You can see why this book appeals to me if you read this review of it!

So that’s it then for another year except to wish you all a…

Happy New Year!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Happy New Year!

  1. daffy says:

    Happy New Year to you too! Oh and happy reading!
    We’ve snow again today… no plans for merriment although if my hubby gets his way he’ll no doubt ensure I do a bit of chauffering! Ah well…
    All the best to you Flighty! Here’s to another year of good, true friendship and lots of digging, birdwatching, frog watching and fun!

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy hello and to you too!
      It’s just been cold, wet and windy here but thankfully no snow!
      Thanks and you! That all sounds good to me, and if there is lots then there’ll be plenty to blog about as well!
      Take care, stay warm and ‘see’ you next year! xx

  2. Carrie says:

    Nigel Slater’s books are great we got a new one for christmas ‘Tender’ about Slater’s own veg patch and loads of easy tasty recipes. But we also got River Cottage Handbook No. 4 Veg Patch. It’s a gardening book by Mark Diacono and a recipe book by Hugh Fearnely-Whittenstall. Extremely good reading and a lovely feeling book. Anyway – kisses.

    • Flighty says:

      Carrie I like Nigel Slater as he’s a cook, not a so-called celebrity chef, who writes!
      The River Cottage book looks interesting as well!
      I reckon that it won’t be an easy decision which one to get! xx

  3. deyank says:

    And a very Happy New Year to you too Mike. We have just a light frosting of snow and now that the weather is going a bit warmer not likely to even have that by tomorrow. Gloomy and dark outside because of the low clouds. No plans for merriment at all.

    Bill

  4. Jennyta says:

    Happy New Year to you too, Flighty. 🙂

  5. joan ludbrook says:

    Happy new year Flighty and all your readers x

  6. Glo says:

    Happy New Year, Flighty! By my reckoning it is just turning into your the New Year as I write!

  7. Happy New Year and may it be overflowing with loads of gardening, reading and cooking from your new book. Read the review and now fully understand why you wanted to have it. I want it too! 😉

  8. happy new year Flighty! may 2010 bring you much gardening delights 🙂

  9. disgruntled says:

    Happy New Year. I was also going to recommend the Nigel Slater Tender book, as it seems to cover the gardening aspect too, but I see Carrie beat me to it.

  10. nikkipolani says:

    HAPPY NEW YEAR Flighty! I think simple basic cooking is a great goal for 2010. I have heard that Alice Waters’ cook books are good because they focus on simple techniques that let the ingredients shine. And since you’ll be growing so much lovely produce, you might enjoy that.

    Thank you again for the lovely DVD, Flighty. Roomie and I were looking forward to viewing it but I believe it’s not compatible with our player 😦 So we will look online to see what we might have missed.

    A wonderful gardening year to you, my friend.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki many thanks, and to you too! I feel that if I’m going to grow all these vegetables then perhaps I should be just a touch more adventurous in the way I cook them. I’ll check out Alice Waters following your recommendation.
      Regarding the DVD you’re most welcome! I’ve sent you an email which will hopefully mean that you’ll be able to watch it!
      Thanks again and the same sentiments to you my rosey friend! xx

  11. Gerry says:

    Happy New Year, Flighty! I’m, um, a bit late, but that’s par for the course.

    I’ve been walking about in the plot, examining the teasel, laughing at the squirrel, wishing I could hear the birds. I do enjoy visiting.

    May all your culinary experiments be delicious!

  12. mrs K says:

    Bit late, loads of snow, so that’s me stuck for a while. But got a new camera and the birds are doing it all for me – yippee to 2010. Never too old to have a new toy.

    Healthy 2010.

  13. mrs K says:

    PS meant to add I am famous for my ‘fish pie’ – never told anybody its Nigel Slater’s.

    Sometimes I just feel wicked.

Leave a Reply

