This time of year

Looking at the  Radio Times Christmas issue for Saturday through to the New Year last weekend I found nothing of real note that I want to watch on any of the five terrestrial channels.  There’s always something so I looked again but to no avail!  I thought that perhaps it was just me but a couple of people have since said the same thing. I’m not sure if I feel a sense of relief or gloom at that!

Oh well, I’m glad that I’ve been stocking up with plenty of library books over the past week or two.  One of them is  Death on the Ice by Robert Ryan which I’m not so sure is a good choice  for this time of year. I think that Ryan’s previous book Empire of Sand would be a warmer read but typically I read that back in the summer!

On Sunday morning  the Horticultural Society’s Christmas Party will be held in the trading shed. There’ll be food, drink, a raffle and even crackers along with plenty of good natured banter and laughs. One tinge of sadness is that longtime helper/committee member Ashley won’t be there as he died a few weeks ago. It came as a real shock when we learnt of his death as he was the youngster among us being only 52!  He was a kind soul, and happy to be the resident tea boy who always made tea/coffee for everyone. We’ll miss his weekly presence that’s for sure. I’ll also miss sharing a biscuit or two with John’s lovely dog Jodi who hadn’t been well for some time and had to be put to sleep last week.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to This time of year

  1. nikkipolani says:

    Some bittersweet moments at that party, Flighty. I’m sorry to hear about Ashley as well as John’s Jodi.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki yes I’m sure there will be. Ashley was a quiet guy who was always there helping out, and will be much missed.
      Jodi was nine, which is a good age, and such a placid dog. xx

  2. Glo says:

    Glad you’ve stocked up on library books ~ I have three at the ready as well. Nothing nicer than curling up with a book in cosy surroundings when winter is playing outside! Too bad there’s nothing much on TV to look forward to. On one of the channels here, there is a video of a roaring wood fire (crackly noise as well) playing constantly and that’s it!

    I’m sorry to hear about Ashley and Jodi, as well. The Christmas party will give everyone a chance to remember Ashley and his helpfulness and be a tribute to him, which sounds like something he’d appreciate. I remember you posting about Jodi ~ such lovely eyes. I’m sure John, his family, and you all will miss the sweet dog. Seems sadder when things happen around Christmastime.

    On the upside, Christmas does give us a chance to feel loving and giving, which is what life is about 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I picked up three more library books yesterday! I’m rather disappointed that there’s nothing on TV.
      Thanks for that. I’m sure that we’ll all raise a cup of tea, or glass of mulled wine, to Ashley on Sunday at the party. John will certainly miss Jodi. As you rightly say such losses are always harder to bear at this time of year.
      It does indeed, even for an old grumpy like me! xx

  3. daffy says:

    Hopefully you can ease the sadness of missing friends with the memories you have. Jodi looked very wise and thoughtful in that picture.
    Stay warm and I hope the snow flurries don’t get you! We are having a few here and so I’ve decided to close the curtains… ;o)
    xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy I have only good memories, so I’ll remember both with fondness and a smile!
      The snow flurries arrived in force last night as you see in the next post! Staying warm is at the top of my list when it’s like this. xx

Leave a Reply

