A good campaign

I’ve recently added the link Love Food Hate Waste as I’m proud to support a good campaign like this as one of my dislikes is wasting anything!

I really do find it appalling just how much food does go to waste both here in the UK,  and elsewhere,  whilst people go hungry in other parts of the world.

I suppose that’s symptomatic of today’s couldn’t care less, throwaway society which I find that I’m increasing out of step with.

Wandering round the allotment site a month or two back I noticed that there were several plots where fruit and vegetables been left unpicked and going rotten. One plot had had lots of good tomatoes and another bunches of juicy, sweet black grapes all which went to waste. It’s not as though the plot holders weren’t around,  as they were,  which leaves me wondering why they bother!

So please join me in this good campaign to love food hate waste!

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A good campaign

  1. mrs K says:

    I would have wandered over and sort of chatted about nothing and then asked if they were going to bottle those tomatoes, or cook and freeze and did they know how to make wine and hoped like h**l they then offered some of the stuff to me.

    I knocked on a door a few weeks ago as they have a crab apple tree and had a good response. Now have 5 – 1lb jars of crab apple jelly. Took one up to the people and they loved it. Bet next year I don’t get any crab apples.

    • Flighty says:

      Mrs K unfortunately both are somewhat anti-social so doing that would have been rather fruitless sadly!
      I reckon that it’s always worth asking like that! You may be lucky if they prefer doing it that way. xx

  2. VP says:

    An excellent idea Flighty. Thanks for pointing it out 🙂
    xx

  3. Carrie says:

    Oh it makes me mad too. Last weekend i noticed around 8 good brussel sprot plants ripped up and on the compost heap on one plot. There was nothing wrong with them, in fact they looked good. That of course is just one example in literaly hundreds there – aargghhhh!
    I shall have to join your campaign xxx

  4. nikkipolani says:

    A shame, really. There seems to be enough unwanted produce just in your allotment site to warrant a little shop of give-aways.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it really is! Some of the other plot holders do bring produce to the trading shed on Sundays to sell with the money going to charity which is a great idea. xx

  5. menhir1 says:

    I was brought up to’ waste not want not’ as regards food; same campaign different words in the title.

  6. menhir says:

    We know very well what the responsible consumption of food means, don’t we. I wonder what the in-betweenies make of it. By that, I mean people elsewhere who were not very affected by rationing measures post war, and the others who came after.

    xx

  7. menhir says:

    I have scanned the report; there are two observations.
    1. It is full of uncertainty of reported ‘fact’
    2. It is polemical

    Those two elements alone, make it difficult to intelligently disseminate a balanced and coherent analysis from the article.

    Without wanting to sound selfish, the UK is in a better position for food growing in a climate change environment, as are other Northern European countries, providing they have good agricultural husbandry. Some areas of the Antipodes are also still fecund.

    We have been fed several different stories about why certain food costs soared, at different times to suit current reporting, one of those being the drawing back of wheat for food and to create fuel instead.

    The fertile locations will have the opportunity to become food producers. Sharing sensibly and probably seasonally, would be no bad thing.

  8. Harry says:

    I remember someone once said that home computers would only be useful for recording what was in the freezer.

    Well, I have to admit that I do this, with a date against all produce put into the freezer, and then print it out.

    The lady of the house always has an instantly-available record of what is in the garage freezer…..and nary a bit gets wasted. That’s our contibution to the project!

  9. Ellie says:

    Couldn’t agree more – I think our generation had ‘waste of food is a sin’ drummed into us by people who could still remember rationing. I loved that link – spent ages there copying recipe plans, then remembered I hadn’t commented!

Leave a Reply

