Plot flowers

I’ve decided on a top ten of annual flowers that I’m going to grow next year. I’ve grown them all before and most, if not all, have been mentioned and pictured here.  Some will be just a single variety whilst others will number several.

They are Pot Marigolds (Calendula officinalis), Cornflowers (Centaurea cyanus), Cosmos (Cosmos bipinnatus), Californian Poppies (Eschscholtzia californica), Sunflowers (Helianthus annus),Sweet Peas (Lathyrus odoratus), Poached Egg Plants (Limnanthes douglaslii), Linaria (Linaria maroccana), Love-in-a-Mist (Nigella damascena) and Nasturtiums (Tropaeolum majus).

I’ve collected seed from some which I grew this year, I have  packets that I didn’t use and others I’ll be buying from the trading shed where the Horticultural Society do Kings Seeds at really good prices.

I should point out that I’ve also got plenty of other flower seeds including a couple of packets of Nemophilia ‘Five Spot’ which I’ll be sowing in the patio pallet window box for a summer display. During the year Georgie has very kindly sent me various seeds including Centratherum  ‘Pineapple Sangria’ , Red Valerian and Violas.

I’m hoping that all these will give me a spread of flowers across the whole plot, and lots of colour!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Plot flowers

  1. Jennyta says:

    Sounds lovely, Flighty. It really makes me want this awful dreary weather to be over so that we can get back to ‘growing weather’ again.

    • Flighty says:

      Jenny thanks, I hope that it’ll look as lovely as it sounds next summer. I think that we all feel like that…said looking out the window at another dull, wet morning! xx

  2. menhir1 says:

    I saw snow today, here!

    Red valerian; I am curious. Can this be harvested for its calming and relaxing properties as other valerian that is used for the purpose?

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir really, I’m not keen on snow myself so I’ll be glad if I don’t see any here!
      No they are different plants as red valerian is ‘Centranthus ruber’, which I’m growing to attract butterflies, and ‘Valeriana officinalis’ is the medicinal one. xx

  3. nikkipolani says:

    Oh! You are are going to have quite a lot of colour if everything germinates!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I’d be over the moon if everything germinates! However I’m sure that much of it will, and that there’ll be lots to look at and show you here. xx

  4. menhir1 says:

    The snow I saw was cyber snow, on your site. The onion tears have metamorphosed.

    I can see what is happening, on colour I can definitely see ‘snow’ , on white backgrounds it is more suffused and cyber snow could easily be mistaken for water droplets.

    In fact, I did see some snow a short while ago, not here at home, but about 20 miles away, sitting on hill tops. Its gone for now.

  5. Georgie says:

    I can see the ‘snow’ too and I thought it was deliberate!

    Nice choice of annuals there, Flighty, and I’m sure the bees will be pleased.

    G x

    • Flighty says:

      Georgie I don’t mind snow here on the blog but not so keen on the real stuff!
      Thanks, they’re nearly all traditional allotment flowers and good for wildlife. xx

  6. Dear Flighty this is uncanny, except for the poached egg plants all your plants are on my fav list too. It’s good to make plans for sowing next year, isn’t it, on these dark and gloomy days before Christmas. Cheers you up!

    cheerio xxx

  7. Louise says:

    Lovely! I’d very much like some white cosmos in my garden next summer. x

Leave a Reply

