Onions

Onions were probably the best vegetables that I grew this year. I bought about 25 sets each of two varieties, Sturon and Turbo, from the Horticultural Society back in late January then planted them out two months later.

Apart from watering  when needed and hoeing round to keep clear of weeds I had to do nothing else except wait and watch them grow.

By mid-July they were ready so about a week later I harvested them.

Since then I’ve been enjoying  eating two or three every week and I’ve still got just over a dozen left which will see me through to the New Year!

I like fried onions with my pork sausages, mashed potatoes and baked beans. I also like them raw, and thinly sliced, with cheese in sandwiches.  I may even try my hand at making some English Onion Soup rather than being lazy and just opening a tin!

Needless to say that onions are at the top of my list of vegetables to grow next year, however I may only grow the variety Sturon as these seemed to be the better of the two that I grew this year.

This rather witty little poem suggests that onions are better cooked – from a social point of view!

Onions by Jonathan Swift [1667-1745, born Ireland]

‘This is every cook’s opinion –

No savory dish without an onion,

But lest your kissing should be spoiled

Your onions must be fully boiled.’

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Onions

  1. Carrie says:

    Oh the tasty onion, a must for practically all cooks. I am intolerant, they make me violently sick (both ends), it’s just like food poisoning to my body. Why, oh why!!! *looks to the heavens* Leeks are good though.
    Your onions have done you proud xxx

  2. nikkipolani says:

    I once had a roomie like Carrie, poor dear. Couldn’t have even the dried granulated onion that comes in seasoning mixes. Your onions look really nice, Flighty, and kind of small. A nice size for slowly roasting with a bit of balsamic vinegar, perhaps!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it’s a real shame when anyone is like that.
      Thanks, it’s a really big plate they’re on and they’re mostly almost tennis ball sized which I find ideal.
      That sounds like a good idea! xx

  3. How strange, I read that quote in a Cranks cookery book, not an hour ago!

  4. menhir1 says:

    The onions look really good.

    Soup: you can cheat a little, (no, I am not Delia Smith in disguise) and buy the already well flavoured liquid beef stock in plastic packs. Most stores have them. You will need to used a good number of onions for a fulsome onion-swimming dish. You could, mix your onion varieties to bulk it up a bit.

    Slices of onion, not too thick are prepared for the stock in the usual way. Some cooks put lots of sugar in, one told me 4 table-spoons. If you have a really sweet/savoury tooth, that is fine. If you haven’t, stick to a teaspoon or two. Onions do have some natural sweetness, though that can be hard to believe.

    Once you’ve prepared the base of your dish, add your stock and let the whole lot simmer for as long as you feel works well for you. If you don’t buy in the rich stock, then the alternative would be the stock cubes, or making your own stock.

    All that’s left, is for you to enjoy.

    Fried onions and baked beans! ????????

    Tell me I am not imagining it; is this site weeping onion tears?

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir thanks, they’ve kept really well.
      I can see that I’m going to have to make some soup aren’t I since you’ve kindly told me what to do!
      Does eating them with baked beans make me a foodie heathen, if so how about with mushy peas then!
      No it’s not tears, it’s snowing here and will be until 4th January! xx

  5. mrs K says:

    Me+onions+tripe+boiled in milk and water till cooked. Yummy.

    • Flighty says:

      Mrs K I really do hope that you’re not cooking yourself!
      I don’t think that I’ve ever eaten tripe, and I would assume that with few butchers shops around nowadays it must be hard to find. xx

  6. menhir1 says:

    Mushy peas is a non, no, nein, for me, with anything, stick to your onions.

    I have micro-waved a big onion, the Spanish ones are particularly good. It’s a pleasant, quick and warm Lunch. This is making me salivate, and I have only recently eaten my breakfast. I think I shall have to have a lunch onion soon.

    How do you snow till the 4th January? I could have sworn there were onion tears.
    😉

  7. menhir1 says:

    I just posted a comment, the site said it was a duplicate, and there’s no sign of even one…. grrrrrr. I’m saving this second attempt in case there’s another blip.

    Mushy peas with anything is a non,no,nein for me, with anything. Just stick to your onions.

    I occasionally enjoy a microwaved onion for a warm light lunch. The big Spanish ones are good for this.

    How do you make the onion tears snow, till the 4 th January?

  8. Mushy peas, divine top of the range comfort food.
    Roast onions, yummy; sweet as a nut

  9. menhir1 says:

    Ah, I see,

    Hanging around waiting to see if the site rights its intake of comments, is not something I am very good at. Never mind, you got the sense of my drift twice, not all bad.

    Your onions are doing nicely Mr F 😉

    One day, I may take to WordPress as a No.1., for blogging, but for now I am still learning about the use of it. I still haven’t fathomed out, what I would have thought would have been straightforward elements.

    XX

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir it shouldn’t happen often, but if it does then do please let me know and I’ll email WordPress support about it.
      They are indeed, and I enjoyed another one at lunch time in my cheese sandwiches!
      Like most sites this has it’s good, and not so good, points. After three years here there’s plenty of things that still puzzle me!

  10. Ellie says:

    That looks a wonderful plate of onions. Onions would have to be my desert island ingredient; I find it really hard to imagine cooking without them. But I have no success at growing them, especially spring onions!

  11. Louise says:

    A man who knows his onions! I love lots of raw onion in a salad. Daren’t breathe on anyone afterwards though! I love that ditty. We love sausages/onion/mashed potato and baked beans too. It’s such an easy and tasty meal to make during the week after work. Must check out that soup recipe. x

Leave a Reply

