Honest Scrap award

Honest Scrap award

As I mentioned last week I’ve been awarded this by Allison @ A Tasteful Garden!

She says that the rules which apply to it can be broken if you dare…which is good as I do!

Brag about the award…well doing this post is surely doing just that.

Include the name of the blogger who gave it to you and link back to them…which I’ve done above.

Choose a minimum of seven blogs that you find brilliant in content or design…here’s where I dare break the rules as I really am reluctant to do this as I think that all my lawn lounging friends blogs fit the bill here.

That said means that the next rule isn’t appliciable so I won’t mention it.

Lastly I should list at least ten honest things about myself! Mmm okay…

As you will have realised I’m not really 5 but 62.  The only things that I remember about being around 5 are watching the Coronation on TV and having my tonsils removed.

Blue has always been my favourite colour,  however I’ve never owned a blue car but I did once buy a pair of blue suede shoes.

Her voice sends a shiver down my spine and makes me weak at the knees!

My mum always tutted at me for eating apples including the core and pips, and yes I still do!  My dad always peeled and cored his.

I’m always reading several  books at any one time. At the moment they include The Judas Sheep by Stuart Pawson and Billy Connolly, Journey to the Edge of the World.

I rarely wear a wristwatch. I own two automatics which means that when I do  I invariably have to sort out the correct time and day/date.

I’ve never broken any bones or have any scars.

I’ve worn glasses for just about as long as I remember.  I used to get hayfever so I’ve never tried contact lenses, which I’ve never really fancied anyway.

I’ve always wanted to do this but definitely not this!   Well would you?

Taking on an allotment two years was like a dream come true as one of my few  regrets in recent years was not having a garden.  It’s a simple pleasure but one that truly is one of my best ones.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Honest Scrap award

  1. Carrie says:

    how exciting to learn little things about the private you. There’s no way you’re 62, you’re too cool!!! Only as old as you feel, eh? I was told that if I ate the pips a tree would grow out my mouth!!! Scared me so much I would have to be double dared to even do it now, haha. So do I do this meme, have I got an award too??? kisses

    • Flighty says:

      Carrie thanks for your kind words!
      I’ve been told that about the pips too but I’m long past caring!
      If you want to do this meme then you can certainly say that I gave you this award. xx

  2. Liv says:

    Thanks to Glo’s monthly nudges, I set aside some time to blog and visit my old blogger buddies. One of my friends said that the reason I blog less is that I’m finally busy LIVING. I agree to some extent, but then how do working mothers blog? And allotment owners blog? And … and …

    Anyway, although you don’t wear them, I am glad you have automatic watches and wish there were more of them in the world. Whenever I wear my mother’s old Rado I just hold it up to my ear and enjoy the comforting and regular ticking…xx

    • Flighty says:

      Liv life is all about balance and compromise! That’s all too easy to say but harder to do as all too often it’s a real roller-coaster journey.
      Anyway it’d be nice if you can find the time to blog a bit more often.
      I’ve never owned a battery wristwatch! xx

  3. daffy says:

    Well! I’d like to see you in those blue suede shoes, uhhh, huuu. (That may not translate onto a blog comment but it’s my best Elvis impression.)
    I can’t go anywhere without a watch on. When my husband and I went shopping for an engagement ring I came back with a sparkling watch! It had a big yellow flower on the face and a shiney black strap! ;o)
    I love that you finally got your longed for garden! You fit in perfectly to the allotment life and I think it has enriched your days by a mile. I’d like to think we all got to have that feeling in our lifetimes!
    So glad you are still enjoying the book and I’m not going to mention Mariella and weak knees! *rolls eyes*
    xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy at the time they were my pride and joy!
      I used to be like that but just don’t bother much, or need to, now.
      I see people who say that I seem much more content since I’ve had the plot.
      Thanks I’m really enjoying the book. Okay! xx

  4. woo hoo Flighty!!! glad to learn some new fun facts about you 🙂 thanks for playing!

  5. Divastar says:

    Hello Flighty! I’ve been a bad blogger and not about much due to growing a little sister for Lincoln! This pregnancy has me pretty tired and not very well but I’ve only 3 months to go now 😉 I watched one of my favourite films last night, Die Hard 4.0 and it had an F35 in, Simon found this youtube link and so I thought I’d send it to you. The plane is so fantastic!!!! 🙂 Hope all is well (and just a little secret, as a child I used to eat the apple cores too 😉 ) xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Diva hello it’s nice to hear from you again and many congratulations!
      I haven’t seen that film yet but will catch up with it one day! Thanks to Simon for the terrific link.
      Yes thanks it is, and it seems that’s one habit I didn’t grow out of.
      Take care! xx

  6. Divastar says:

    D’oh! did I mention that this pregnancy has me dippier than ever? LOL It would help if I put the youtube link in wouldn’t it?! 🙂

    xxx

  7. nikkipolani says:

    A really fun post, Flighty! I like your list of things about you. And you’ve piqued my interest in that police procedural — I hear Judas Sheep to be wickedly funny.

    Also, it’s nice to see some long lost posters: Liv and Diva!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki many thanks, it was fun to do once I thought about it!
      I wouldn’t call The Judas Sheep wickedly funny, although it is lighthearted in parts, so perhaps you’re mixing it up with another book! This is the third in the D.I. Charlie Priest series and I’m really enjoying reading them again. I like one review which says…Perfect for a long winter afternoon with the rain beating down on the windows.
      It is nice indeed to see old friends again! xx

  8. Ellie says:

    Hi Mr F

    I read this a couple of days ago and didn’t have time to leave a comment – but I loved seeing so much of the private you. My husband eats apple core and pips too – and it still makes me squirm thinking of ‘the apple tree growing within’! Some things never leave you .. x

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie make of the most of a post like this as I don’t do them very often!
      Good for him, and it’s good to know that I’m not the only one who does! That’s true. xx

  9. fraggle says:

    Just popped by to say hi, robin won child of the year award Thursday he got a lovely glass trophy,so busy Isaac is still having seizures only two today,and my dad having hospice care at home in final stages of his cancer.I will email soon as I get bit time to myself xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Fraggle hello, I’ve been thinking of you all! Well done to Robin, he and you must be well pleased.
      I’m sorry to hear that Isaac is still having sizures, and even more sorry to hear that about your dad.
      I appreciate that you must be having a tough time at the moment so my thoughts are with you.
      Do email when you can. Take care and hugs. xx

Leave a Reply

