November plotting

There have been plenty of good weather days recently so I’ve been making the most of them working on the plot.

Yesterday I moved my non-flowering Iceberg rose to a new spot just across the pathway from the Valentine Heart rose. I’ve done this in the hope that it’ll be happier there and look like this next year.

I also planted out the Michaelmas daisies now that they’ve finished flowering and been cut back.

It’s been good to see that the pot marigolds are still flowering,November pot marigoldsand I shall be growing lots of them again next year. AΒ  sunflower even started blooming again last week, although the flowers were only a few inches diameter.

I’m leaving the sweetcorn stalks standing through the winterΒ  then I’ll crushSweetcorn stalksthe stems and put them in the bottom of the compost bin once it’s been emptied.

As well as sunny days there have been plenty of wet ones so conditions have been ideal for the fungi which have appeared all over the plot!Plot fungi

Sadly I have to say that when I arrived at the plot on Monday it was clear that there had been an act of vandalism! The peanut bird feeder was lying on the ground empty and in a right state. Luckily it was easy to see who the villain was as it had left it’s muddy paw marks all over the place. I won’t be replacing this feeder but will continue to top up the seed one for the smaller birds to enjoy.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to November plotting

  1. daffy says:

    Vandals!! I know I have one feeder that they bit and chewed so much that in the wire was gaping holes, so now that’s the squirrel feeder. I’ve even been throwing out carrots for the rabbits this past week!
    Glad you had some good weather to get the winter prepared for but like my dad keeps saying, things keep blooming and blossoming just when he thinks they are finished!

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy I wasn’t that surprised as I had started seeing them nearby recently!
      I was there again this morning, and talking with plot neighbours Brian and Trevor we were saying the same thing as your dad. xx

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Well well. Squirrels get hungry, too — they just seem a bit greedier than most! And apparently, not very tidy… Your pot marigolds are just marching along, aren’t they! As long as there is a bit of sun, I guess they’ll keep going.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I don’t really mind them eating the peanuts but it’s the damage to the feeder that annoys me!
      They do indeed, and they’ve been flowering for nearly four months now. xx

  3. Louise says:

    The villain looks as if butter wouldn’t melt! I’ve still Gazania and Nasturium flowering in the garden, although we haven’t had a frost yet. I’ve seen funny fungi in the garden for the first time ever. Great photo. Due to having an operation my plant moving will have to wait until Springtime, and I had so many plans to get jobs done. Glad you’ve been able to make changes ahead Flighty. x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise you just know that anything with such a look is real trouble really! I suppose that the weather has confused many plants. Thanks!
      Springtime will be here soon enough and then I’m sure you’ll be raring to go so to speak.
      Thanks again, and take care. xx

  4. VP says:

    I’ve had to stop a lot of my bird feeding activities as it led to us having squirrels in the loft 😦

    Glad to see you’re having a much better week this week Flighty. Take care.
    x

    • Flighty says:

      VP That’s sad but I’m not surprised!
      Yes it’s been a much better one, well I have plotting three mornings which makes all the difference! Thanks, and you. xx

  5. lady_drid says:

    Glad to know you are gardening. The vandal in your plot is very beautiful. Here kids love finding him in fairy tale books; his pictures are really nice. I can imagine the troublemaker this squirrel is. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

