An up, down and up week!

My week started well enough last Monday as the sun was shining and I spent the morning working on the plot.

A couple of weeks back over on Allotments 4 All Betula had made this suggestion and the idea of donating to my good cause Thrive was agreed on. On  Tuesday morning I set up this JustGiving page for her, and as you can see we’ve raised £120. With the extra donation that I ‘ve promised and  added GiftAid amount that will take the total to over £150, and needless to say we’re well pleased.

Wednesday was the real down day! I spent much of the time on the phone on various  personal/family/business matters and basically got nowhere.  On Allotments 4 All a member who’s an  internet troll decided to try and cause mayhem with endless pointless topics and offensive remarks.  I ended up going to bed early with a headache, then woke up in the middle of the night realising that I’d not only not done a draft for my Thursday entry here but also lay there wondering what the heck to write about anyway.

Thursday morning I walked to the library and on the way met Tyson who’s a wonderful fluffy white, blue-eyed Huskie just like this one. He’s a youngster but getting noticably bigger every time I see him, and as his owner said thankfully less boisterous as well.

That lunch time Daffy phoned me to see if I was okay as she’d noticed that I not been commenting on blogs, including hers, for a couple of days nor done my Thursday entry!

Yes I’m okay I told her…I’m just having one of those weeks with too many minor niggles!  No, niggles not giggles! Chatting with her always brightens up my day.

Yesterday was a so-so day but the real plus point was that Allison@a tasteful garden has given me a honest scrap award! You’ll see that she says that I’ve got gardening prowess which made me smile somewhat quizzically.

Glo (Porcelain Rose) emailed me and listed several of what she thought were my minor niggles.  I would quibble with her over the suggestion that my running out of tea and biscuits is one as that would definitely have been a major catastrophe!

Today was a beautiful sunny day so I spent a very pleasant and productive morning on the plot.  More about that in a forthcoming post.  Whilst there Joe kindly picked and gave me this bunch of chrysanthemumsRed chrysanths

So it’s been a bit of an up, down and up week, and please don’t remind me that it’s Friday the 13th next week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to An up, down and up week!

  1. nikkipolani says:

    Ah, Flighty. Those weeks can wear you out, can’t they. So glad that Daffy’s call came just in time. Friends like her are gems. And I agree with you about trolls on forums. They are hard to shake and sometimes hard to ignore. I suppose if everyone ignored them uniformly, they’d go away.

    Hope those bright chrysanthemums are cheering you up this weekend.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki they certainly can! So was I, and they are indeed.
      This one is a real pain, and sadly there are people who just can’t or won’t ignore them.
      The mums look good on the windowsill, especially on a dull, wet day like today!

  2. Flighty, Just stopping by to say hello. Ugh, I hope the downs of the week are gone for good and that you are having a pleasant weekend. I have not been able to blog for a long time. I get busy and then don’t know what to write either. The cats asked to be remembered to you.

    • Flighty says:

      Beginninghere hello! Yes thanks the weekend, so far, has been much better.
      Never mind, we all get times like that.
      That’s nice, give Em and Sam a stroke from me! xx

  3. Glo says:

    Good to see you’ve perked up for the weekend after a coaster roller week. Of course being without tea and biscuits would be a major catastrophe, what was I thinking? That nasty troll sounds like a pesky irritant. I hope you’ll have no more bother from ‘it’. I like that there were niggles, giggles and quibbles mentioned in your post. What a lovely bouquet of mums from Joe to brighten your windowsill 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Glo the morning spent on the plot yesterday made up for it. If I ever do run out of tea and biscuits you’ll know that I’ve gone completely gaga!
      I hope so too as ‘it’ is so disruptive on days like that. No wibbles though!
      Joe was picking them as they probably won’t see out another week sadly.

  4. Jennyta says:

    Sorry you’ve had an upand down week, Flighty, but here’s hoping next week will be better. 🙂

  5. menhir says:

    My heavens Mr F!

    You’ve just reminded me it is Friday the 13th next week…how perverse of you. You are obviously feeling more sanguine.

    Looking at your diary of events for the week, you have been very busy with all sorts of weird and mostly wonderful activities. It is now time to take stock (hmm that’s an unintended pun, but I like it… 🙂 ) and jump back into the cockpit and fly.
    xx

    PS Well done.

  6. alison says:

    it has been a up and down week for me too, and that red flowers popped made helped cheered me. thanks. have a good week. friday 13th?

  7. daffy says:

    Ah see, this entry was worth waiting for. I look a good update! Up and down weeks have a habit of coming and going… here is hoping you have lots more ups than downs! xx

  8. daffy says:

    I meant to say, “love a good update”! Sorry, fingers are sleepy.

  9. lady_drid says:

    Hi, my friend! I’m sure one of your niggles was your absence from my Birthday party in Friday November 6th.hehehehe If I knew you wanted to join up with us for my birthday celebration, I’d have invited you, even though it was a small party. I’m so sorry about this! Hugs.

    • Flighty says:

      Lady drid hello, I knew that there was something else niggling me then!
      I’m sure that you really enjoyed your party and next year I’ll try to remember to wish you a happy birthday on the day!
      Take care, and hugs, Flighty! xx

Leave a Reply

