Ups and downs

Mrs K is one of the few people who regularly comments here who doesn’t blog and a while back I found out why not when she made this comment. I always admire people like her who freely give their time and effort to do more than just donate to a charity.  As I promised in my reply to that comment I said that I would mention her good cause PMR-GCA UK North East.

With the clocks changing this weekend it starts to get colder and darker which means that I’ll feel my aches and pains more in the coming months.  One way of brightening up my days is looking at good blogs, and especially ones that put a smile on my face. Here are a few that have done just that over the past week.

Carrie’s post The Duality of Autumn really highlights the ups and downs of this time of year, whilst Daffy likes to go to the movies.

Perhaps you’d prefer to stay at home looking at Re’s lovely illustrated book, which would surely be accompanied by a cup of tea from the teapot wearing  Disgruntled’s snazzy gentleman’s tea cosy and a plate of The Homely Year’s delicious looking chocolate brownies or Allison’s pumpkin chocolate chip cookies.

Our pets seem to be obvious to it all as you can see with Alison’s cat Kiki finding a suitable hot spot or like Uphilldowndale’s puppy Spud zonking out on the sofa!

If, like me,  you find that it all gets a bit too much some days do you wish that you could just do what the animal is doing in Nic’s terrific photo!

Some of you may wonder why I’ve not included a certain hilarious post that had me laughing out loud on Tuesday morning, however rest assured that I will do so,  probably in the post after next.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in A good cause, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Ups and downs

  1. VP says:

    I value my non-blogging commenters most highly. They’re being so generous with their time for little or no return for themselves.

    You’re leading a great example to us all – it’s great you’ve thanked Mrs K so publicly and highlighted lots of great posts this week from your blogging buddies 🙂

    Have a great weekend!
    x

    • Flighty says:

      VP so do I, and they are indeed!
      Thanks, as you know I’m always happy to mention people and their good causes. The same for good blogs as well.
      Thanks again, you too! xx

  2. Louise says:

    Do you know Flighty, I was just thinking the same about blogs that make you smile, having just viewed one such post which includes 3d specs! I know just what you mean about aches and pains, both of us here are mid to late 40s, with old bones! I like how you highlight certain blogs, and Nic’s photos are great. x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise feel good make us smile blogs seem so few and far between some times.
      Just wait another 20 years, with even older bones!
      Thanks, and yes they certainly are! xx

  3. Carrie says:

    Oh Flighty why, why mention the clocks, I weep. I fear there is nothing more depressing than losing a hour, unless I am travellling to a fabulous land on what will be a great adventure.
    Eeek! I swear I am being attacked by a beetle, in my own living room, on my sofa, I’m off…….aaahhhhh

  4. Carrie says:

    I have gottten rid of it, humanely I may add and not before I took a photo to prove it’s existance. It may look very small but I know such beasts have evil on their minds, I just know it.
    Anyway, thanks for the tip offs about some great blogs to go read xx

  5. daffy says:

    I’ve had a good read of Mrs K’s good cause website. It’s a very informative site I must say! Good for you Flighty for giving it a mention.
    Mrs K! We may be neighbours! ;o)
    .
    Some wonderful blogs you have mentioned here Flighty! (I’m not referring to my own here of course!) Carrie is a wonderful find! I’ve enjoyed having a scan through her entries. 😮
    .
    Did you know…. a bit of useless trivia here… I don’t think I have any non-blogging commenters. None! Not a one!
    .
    Anyway… I’d better get on…. Saturday… I wonder why I keep thinking about Saturday… any reason why I’m thinking of Saturday? ;o)

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy good for you, as you say a most informative site and well worth a mention.
      Thanks, it’s always good when I can mention some good ones, and I’m glad that you like Carrie’s.
      I’m not surprised as they are very rare!
      Thinking about Saturday are you? Well I think that there are a couple of very good reasons why you are! xx

  6. Carrie says:

    Update – Hubby has identified beetle from earlier….a vine evil, I mean vine weevil.

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Always nice to have good reading material — whatever the weather 🙂 We’ve got an extra week before the time change. As traffic patterns also adjust to the reduced light, it’ll be nice to be home with some cosy reading!

  8. hey flighty!! thanks again for the kind shout out. it is always a great read to see your posts so thanks so much for being a wonderful gardening friend!

  9. Pandy says:

    Flighty! A little birdy told me it’s your birthday tomorrow – an early happy birthday to you! Hope you have a terrific day! 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

