Three good days

There was some much needed rain for a few days early last week which meant that the ground was easier to dig when I was plotting last Thursday. My main task was to transplant the clump of rhubarb that Joe had kindly offered me earlier in the year.

DSCN1779Saturday started rather dull but by mid-morning it was sunny and warm. I continued digging over the area I’m going to use for next years potatoes.  There were plenty of bees buzzing round making the most of the still flowering  nasturtiums and the tall clump of michaelmas daisies (aster novi-belgii)(photos right and below) which are in a large pot next to the shed. I was given the latter at the end of  The Show and decided to leave them in the pot until they finish flowering when I shall cut them back and transplant them out on the plot.

This morning was sunny again, but slighty cooler. I transplanted one of the perennial cornflowers (centaurea montana) and some of the crocosmia , both of which were in the area I’m going to grow vegetables on next year.

These three good days mean that I’ve now done the bulk of what I wanted to do before we head into late autumn/early winter and the weather changes as it undoubtably will.DSCN1781

Starting tonight on BBC1 TV at 9.00pm is a new ten part wildlife documentary series Life narrated by David Attenborough. Tonight’s programme 1/10 Challenges of Life is being shown again on Saturday BBC2 at 7.30pm.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Three good days

  1. nikkipolani says:

    Wow, that is one tall daisy! I like the delicate petals on them and that fantastic lavender colour. How nice that the rains came enough to soften the ground and give you some good work days before the cold and wet really settle in. I have to wait until January when, hopefully, the rains will have softened our clay soil.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki they supposedly grow to about 4ft but these are around 6ft! The flowers are small but there’s lots of them and, as you say, they’re a nice colour.
      The forecast for the rest of the week is looking good so hopefully I’ll be able to get plenty more done.
      It’s clay here as well which in dry weather is like concrete! xx

  2. Jennyta says:

    We have clay soil in the garden and I can’t get anything to grow!

    • Flighty says:

      Jenny you’ll have to improve the soil by adding compost and manure. Do that initially for a couple of small areas or beds and you’ll soon be growing something! xx

  3. menhir1 says:

    I heard you were a waiting for rain, like for buses that never arrive!

    If I did not know you were a gardener, with your allotment in full flow, so-to-speak, I would have really got into investigating your plotting lark. 😉
    xx

  4. Ah Flighty, I can appreciate have a run of good days to work in the garden. How nice. And having softer soil to work in is no small blessing. Nik wants to move roses this winter so that means digging in clay soil. Think of me, Flighty. Love the purple daisy bunch.

    • Flighty says:

      Beginninghere I’m sure you do! It means that I can just keep it all ticking over now through to the spring when it all starts again!
      I read that’s what Nikki wants to do. Good luck, I’ll be thinking of you. Thanks! xx

  5. Glo says:

    The rain has come here at last as well, to my sandy soil. Maybe when pottering you could learn to be a potter who makes clay pots ~ homemade containers for your homegrown harvest! Yes, well, it was just a passing thought. Glad to hear you are getting a start on next year’s plot plan. I liked Yolanda’s idea of “Let it Be” ~ that’s what I’ve done so far. 😉 Autumn is definitely here now ~

    • Flighty says:

      Glo sadly my artistic talents, which are somewhat limited, do not extend to being a potter!
      My actions on the plot, and thoughts when not, are now fully geared towards next year!
      Me too, I’ll all for doing that. It is here as well! xx

  6. Glo says:

    PS Your daisies are lovely!

Leave a Reply

