More Heroes and Heroines

As always it was good to see friends, and fellow bloggers, join in last Thursday’s National Poetry Day.

Here, in no particular order, are the ones I read with a wide-ranging selection of self-penned, or quoted, poems about Heroes and Heroines.

I was pleased to see that Daffy, always a keen participant, managed to support the event with this very personal poem.

Veg Plotting choose some lyrics rather than a conventional poem for a rather interesting take on the day.

Blog.co.uk has it’s fair share of poets as I came across these three terrific entries. La Spice’s welcome contribution was  Unsung heroesJenray’s Ghosts is a powerful thought-provoking poem and Banana did the rather more unusual Heroes/Heroines.

Two people who decided to join in this year were Chrisb who quotes a very familar poem and Carrie who choose this wonderful favourite one.

Nikki’s God’s doors was a most welcome, and thoughtful entry.

I wish that I could have included one more that I read but it was a for friends only post. The friend who wrote it has been seriously ill and recently had a major operation, which I’m glad to see appears to have been completely successful. The poem is about her surgeon who she understandably considers to  her personal hero.

My thanks to you all for your heroic contributions and I look forward to seeing you again next year!

If I’ve missed anyone then do please let me know by commenting here and I’ll happily edit the post to include you.

As a footnote over on Allotments 4 All I asked if anyone had any gardening heroes and heroinesThe responses included a blackbird and robin, Geoff Hamilton,  grandad and Bill and Ben (the Flower Pot Men)!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to More Heroes and Heroines

  1. Glo says:

    Thanks for compiling the poetry links, Flighty. Whenever I think of heroes/heroines, I like to think of the hero within. I wrote a poem once about a little boy who had such a vivid imagination, and how I hoped he’d be able to bring his dreams into the classroom, rather than have them dashed at the door! I think it’s good to find and keep the hero inside each of us! Perhaps I’ll be able to find the poem.

  2. cafecortado says:

    I’m afraid I’m not into poetry much. You do seem however to have created a lot of links here, so I may dig deeper. Always a pleasure to read your blog – if I don’t post comments often here it’s only because you have plenty of other comments left by others. Keep up the good work, and have a pleasant weeks’ work on the allotment. Cafe

    • Flighty says:

      Cafe that’s okay as I appreciate that poetry is not to everyone’s taste! There’s certainly a lot I’m not very keen on myself!
      That’s good to know, and I’m always grateful that people stop by just to read this blog let alone comment.
      I’ll certainly try, and hope to keep on plotting weather permitting! Cheers!

  3. VP says:

    Hi Flighty – thanks for the link. I’m enjoying everyone’s contributions and I’m particularly pleased you found Carrie’s 🙂

  4. Liv says:

    Flighty, I am so glad you’re still blogging faithfully on here but I have missed coming round to say hi. It is true for me that when life begins in earnest, I find there is no time for me to tell anyone about it!

    Was thinking of doing a catchup post today, hopefully before sundown. xx

  5. nikkipolani says:

    A lovely collection of friends around who’ve participated. I wish Daffy did more writing as she always has such good stuff.

  6. chrisb says:

    Thank you for including me, especially as it was a chance post on my part. I particularly liked ‘Nikki’s’ ‘Gods doors’. I must show that one to my mother.

  7. daffy says:

    Lovely gathering! :o)

  8. Carrie says:

    oh silly me, referring to you as a girl, i blush profusely. Thanks for the mention and I was so glad to take part, I love sharing poetry. Also ,I felt a little cheeky taking part via VP but you accepted me and that’s lovely xx

    • Flighty says:

      Carrie that’s okay, I’ve been a blushing blogger on occasion myself! You’re welcome, and it’s good to know that you enjoyed joining in the fun. The more the merrier, and I know that VP was pleased to see that you had! xx

Leave a Reply

