I am not a seedoholic!

Last week the first of the 2010 seed catalogues landed on my doormat and at least one on-line supplier has updated their website.

I’ve checked what I still have in my seed box and listed the ones that I’ve  collected from some of the flowers I grew this year.

Needless to say that I’ve already done wants lists for next year, which have been continually added to and amended!

More of the plot will be taken up by vegetables so I’m having trying to restrict myself somewhat to flowers that I really want to grow. However they will include the annuals calendula/pot marigolds, helianthus/sunflowers ( only five different varieties!), lathyrus/sweetpeas and tropaeolum/nasturtiums. I’ll be buying mine via the Horticultural Society shop, which gets all it’s seeds from King Seeds, who I notice lists linaria maroccana Fairy bouquet which didn’t regrow this year so I’m going to have to buy another couple of packets.

I’m planning on growing the same ten or so vegetables from seed that I did this year, but trying some different varieties. Once again I’ll be buying them from MoreVeg as I can get all I need for around £10- .

Yesterday on the Allotments 4 All forum I noticed that Helen was offering some nasturtium Moonlight which I couldn’t resist, so I’m swopping them for some  of my calendula Art Shades/Sherbert Fizz.  I didn’t join the first of the new pass-the-(seed)-parcels that’s starting up but I’m sure that there’ll be others and plenty more giveaways/swop offers as well.

All I have to do is keep saying that I am not a seedoholic!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to I am not a seedoholic!

  1. VP says:

    Sound like you’re in denial 😉

    But actually your restraint’s impressive!

    I took part in one of the A4A pass the parcel’s last year. It was great fun, but the temptation to have a little of everything was enormous!

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      VP aren’t all gardeners at this time of year, and don’t you believe it!
      I did as well and, as you say, they’re great fun.
      Thanks, and you too! xx

  2. Jennyta says:

    Take a deep breath, Flighty and keep repeating it – “I am not a seedoholic. I can get through this…”

  3. though normally i wouldn’t try to support someone’s addiction, i totally support your seedoholicism 100%. for i too am a seedoholic. some people look forward to holidays, i look forward to seed catalogs 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Allison hello, and thanks for stopping by! Perhaps we shouldn’t think of it as an addiction but part of being a sensible, well-grounded gardener. Catalogues are, of course, essential reading over the next few months!
      That’s a nice blog you do, which I’ll be having a good look at during the week. Take care! xx

  4. Ellie says:

    I know the feeling -just placed my order with Kings Seeds via the Horticultural Society, and I ended up with far more than I intended.

    Now I’m hoping to order some fruit trees and hoping to avoid a similar fate.

    Still, there are a lot worse things to splurge on!

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie I’m sure you do! It won’t stop there you know, as there’s bound to something else you find that you want.
      Lucky you, I’m sure that price, space and common sense will prevail with those!
      That’s so true! xx

  5. menhir1 says:

    Who are you kidding Mr F?
    😉

    In your flower rations you have named two, possibly three, that could be used in food preparation; nasturtiums and marigolds. With the latter, I am not sure if it is a particular variety or any of them.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir no one by the look of it, and certainly not myself!
      Yes both of those, and presumably sunflower seeds which I leave for the birds to enjoy.
      The marigolds I grow are calendula officinalis the flowers of which can be used in the kitchen to flavour dishes, and were once used as a herbal remedy in broths ‘as a comforter of the heart and spirits’. xx

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Riiiiiight. You could reason that not all the seeds will germinate and you’re going to need backups for those that fail. And that you’re trying to keep a diverse plot culture and need all these different flowers… um, for the bees! That’s right. It’s the bees that need coddling.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki well done on providing several rational reasons why we ‘need’ to buy all the seeds that we do!
      I’m all for coddling the bees, and there are plenty of them that need it thanks to all the nearby hives that my plot neighbour John now has. xx

  7. Glo says:

    Not to worry ~
    One of the healthiest ways to gamble is with a spade and a package of garden seeds.
    – Dan Bennett

    Here’s another ~

    Seedsmen reckon that their stock in trade is not seeds at all … it’s optimism.
    – Geoff Hamilton

    Planning plot plants provides personal positivity!

    What types of seeds have you collected and have on hand from Plot 124?

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I particularly like the Geoff Hamilton one as I think that above all gardeners have to be eternal optimists. We surely wouldn’t do it if we weren’t!
      As for the 6P mission statement…!
      I’ve collected seed of calendula/pot marigold, lathyrus/sweet pea, nigella/love-in-mist, tropaeolum/nasturtium, yellow(white) mustard and possibly a couple of others.
      Must go another catalogue has just come through the letterbox! xx

  8. menhir1 says:

    No doubt your flavourings and herbal remedies will come into play. Such modern (and solidly, very old- fashioned) diversity. It sounds like a veritable mediaeval kitchen garden corner will be springing into bloom in 2010!!

    Have you listened to the recent Gardners’ Question Time programmes on radio 4. They have been discussing seeds, taking and preserving your own?

  9. Louise says:

    You know me Flighty, I would have an allotment full of flowers, however much I like veg! I plan to grow some annuals from seed for next year, white cosmos, phlox etc. I rather like the white scabious they are growing in the GW garden this year too. x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise good for you! I’m planning on growing flowers among the vegetables so there hopefully won’t be less of them next year.
      I like white cosmos and scabious…he says reaching for the seed catalogues! xx

  10. nikkipolani says:

    I like what Glo quoted — those seeds are definitely a gamble!

Leave a Reply

